We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay in Hartford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Hartford Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Hartford Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   942 Main Street, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
saint paul
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay in Hartford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We live in Downtown and due to some renovation work in our home, we stayed at the Residence Inn for 6 weeks. I cannot say enough good about this hotel.
The rooms are huge - and if you need the space, get the 1 bedroom - it is totally worth it. High ceilings, separate bedroom and bathroom and a full kitchen.
We were on the 6th floor, and our housekeeper, Ana, is fantastic. The room was spotless, she was always exceptionally friendly - can't say enough good about her.
Every morning there is breakfast - and Janet (she runs breakfast) is so friendly and helpful and personable - she made my morning every day.
The front desk (Michelle, Kim - everyone!) were all super friendly and helpful. We needed to keep extending our stay and they were always soo accomodating.
And the groundskeepers - these guys are wonderful. Funny, kind, personable..
I simply can't say enough about how wonderful the staff is. They really go out of their way to make sure your stay is fantastic.
The hotel gets a lit of traffic, and they handle it well.
We've stayed (or had out of town family stay) at almost every hotel in Hartford.. The Marriott, the Crown Plaza, the Hilton..) From this point forward, we'll always use the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    51
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
35
23
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I have stayed at Residence Inn a number of times and would definitely come back to and recommend to my friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

The rooms are huge and feels like you are getting a royal treatment. Staffs at the place are nice and helpful. They provide complimentary breakfast to all guest with lot to choose from. But the bad part is the menu never changes and would advice them to have new and rotate menu for different days.

The rate was decent and the location of the property makes it the most suitable place for any business traveler. Had a nice time and would visit again. Thanks!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, CT USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Unusual older building has been gutted and restored into a modern Residence Inn with much more charm than the typical roadside hotel. The rooms are very large with high ceilings.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candia, NH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We were not expecting much. My friends and I had stayed in the Hartford area several times and the hotels we stayed at were sub par. This was our first time at Residence Inn and we will only stay there from now on. What a delightful group of employees. They were friendly, helpful, funny, kind ...the list could go on. Smiles everywhere. When's the last time you experienced that? The hotel was very clean and the rooms were spacious and well appointed. My only complaint is we have to sign a form that we will not have more than 4 people per room. The rooms are a touch pricey but compared to nearby hotels who charge the same amount, you get much more for your dollar.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

The one bedroom suite that we got was simply huge.It must have been atleast 700 sqare feet with really high ceiling & a big U shaped kitchen with lots of counter space.The staff was very friendly & nice.They provide complimentory breakfast everyday & dinner monday through thursday.They provide complimentory shuttle service to nearby places.The suite had pull out sofa too which was great when we had friends vising for the weekend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I stayed 3 nights on business and found the hotel to be good. The staff were friendly, the breakfast was good (can't comment on the evening meal as I didn't have one) so overall I thought it was OK.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Even though the staff was nice, I can't get over the fact that there were bugs everywhere. The room didn't appear dirty at first glance, but I wouldn't recommend using the kitchen. bugs... Hartford was a pretty dirty city overall, so maybe that's just how it goes around here. Most of the restaurants were nasty and dirty too...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Hartford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Hartford Downtown

Address: 942 Main Street, Hartford, CT 06103
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Hartford Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown Hotel Hartford
Hartford Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.