We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Hartford Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Hartford Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   942 Main Street, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hartford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed in a 1 bedroom loft. The room was huge, with large windows and great city and river views. This is essentially a roughly 1000sf 1BR apartment.
The only downside is that the room smelled of cigarette smoke. The breakfast was good and the staff very friendly and accommodating.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
MetMet:

Thank you for taking some time to review our hotel and for your great feedback on the hotel rooms. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our large rooms. I apologize for the smell of cigarette smoke in your room; we are 100% smoke free and work hard to enforce that policy. We hope that you will stay with us again and please know that if you are checked into a room that does not meet your needs we would be happy to locate another room for you for your stay.

Kind Regards,
Lisa McIntyre
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    58
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
42
28
15
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised upon entering the room. Nice large and cozy rooms. I did not hear hallway noise or noise from outside. The hotel will even do grocery shopping if you prefer to prepare and cook your food in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We recently stayed here for just one night for a wedding. We hated to leave, because we could have stayed for a week. This was not a hotel room, but a condo, with a full size kitchen, living room area and upstairs loft bedroom with full bath. The hotel was recently--very recently as in they were just finishing--- renovated. Everything was brand new, clean and well appointed. A perfect place to stay if you have extended business in Hartford or just want to spend a weekend downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, spacious "home away from home" while in downtown Hartford, CT. The rooms are huge, larger than some apartments. There is a fully equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave and dishwasher. The bedroom is five steps up and has a king-size bed, large closet with mirrored doors, chest of drawers, and large flat screen TV. Downstairs is a large desk for doing work with plenty of outlets and an ethernet port if needed for a computer. Downstairs furniture includes a chair & ottoman, L-shaped sleep sofa, coffee table, large flat screen TV, and dininig table with four chairs. This hotel was just recently remodeled so everything is clean, bright, and new. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast included daily and hot coffee anytime. Hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to convention center and great restaurants. Would come again anytime!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

First, I have to say I have never seen a GM office right next to the check in desk and the door is always open. I had a small problem during my stay and it was resolved above and beyond my expectation.
Second, the hotel just went through a renovation, I am not sure if all rooms are the same but my room was excellent. It had this loft feel to it with 3 different levels, very cool! The gym is spacious with a lot of variety.
Third, you can't beat the location, its downtown next to a lot of restaurants and cool bars.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
AA75:

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We understand that sometimes problems may arise during a stay, but it is our goal to resolve each situation as quickly and thoroughly as possible. I am glad that we were able to accomplish that for you. I am so glad that you liked the layout of your room. All of our hotel rooms are slightly different due to the historic features of our building, but many of our rooms are multi level loft style rooms that offer great space to relax and spread out! We look forward to having you stay with us should your travels bring you back to Hartford.

Lisa McIntyre
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The service at the front desk is excellent! The representatives greeted me and made me feel welcomed, one employee in particular was Constance. She was extra jolly but it wasn't too much. I would definitely come back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I rarely write a bad review, but I travel a lot for business and this stay warranted mention. I am not a high-maintenance traveler. I understand they are undergoing renovations, however the facility was under par for the cost. First, there are several doors to negotiate manually from the street. Since no one greets you, I was left to handle several bags myself late at night. There are better ways to ensure guest safety than multiple sets of manually operated doors and no help. The room itself was a strange layout, which wouldn't have mattered that much if a) the wireless was working consistently and b) the towel bar didn't fall off when I put a towel on it and c) the sink drained. I agree with Charlotte1203 who noted that the hallways were dirty and rundown. There was quite a bit of noise from the street, translating to a not-so-restful sleep. I moved to the Marriott downtown after 1 night and was much happier. I will not be staying here again, even after renovations are complete.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your experience at my property. Regardless of a renovation or not, your stay should be seamless and be an enjoyable experience. I am extremely sorry that my property did not meet your expectations. Our renovation will be complete within the next few days, and I appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Hartford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Hartford Downtown

Address: 942 Main Street, Hartford, CT 06103
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Hartford Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown Hotel Hartford
Hartford Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.