We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Downtown Hartford” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Hartford Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Hartford Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   942 Main Street, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Hartford
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Downtown Hartford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Nice clean hotel, had a split level with a kitchenette, big and spacious high ceilings in parts. Fridge/freezer was nice for food and beverages. It is right where all the action is. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    48
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
32
22
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Spent three nights here on business with 2 colleagues. It was fantastic. Very conveniently located on Main Street right near the DASH shuttle which is a free bus that loops around the city. It is within walking distance of a number of great restaurants as well as other hotels and the Convention Center. The facility has two restaurants attached to it, so you can enter them without going outside. Even though the units have full kitchens, the hotel provides a full breakfast every morning! They also provide a light supper, which I was never around to try. This is all included in the price of your stay. The suite we were in offered a lot of space, with king size beds. The beds were extremely comfortable with great pillows. Each room has a TV; there is free wifi as well as a hook up. The parking lot is in the rear of the hotel and it is an extra fee of $16.00 per 24 hours. But for a city hotel, that is to be expected. The best feature of this hotel is the staff. Each and every staff member we interacted with was fantastic! They were genuinely interested in our needs, our happiness, our comfort, etc. I had so many of my needs attended to, I did not want to go home!

Room Tip: Our room was in the front of the hotel, so the traffic noise as well as the noise from the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hartford itself was a unique experience, but if you're going there this hotel would be a great choice! The rooms were very spacious, the staff was very courteous and helpful, and the breakfast was a very nice addition for no additional cost. The location was nice too, very close to quite a few excellent restaurants and bars. I would highly recommend staying here if for some reason you're finding the need to stay in Hartford.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Residence Inn in downtown Hartford, offers a wonderful opportunity for a getaway, especially for those who live in the area. The Marriott has been there since 2000 and is about to undergo a renovation. We loved the hospitality suite we were in. Large, with a multilevel floor plan and a full kitchen, we could relax, read, catch up on the papers and watch our favorite shows. The staff, like all Marriott staff members we have encountered, was welcoming, friendly, and always willing to be of assistance. The best part of this Marriott is the building it is in, known as the The Cheney building, it is regarded as the finest example of Romanesque architecture in the United States. In addition to the Marriott, City Steam Brewery Cafe also inhabits the Cheney. If you like tasty craft brew, good food, and the convenience of having all of that next to a Residence Inn, then this is the place for you. Yes, this Residence is within walking distance to many of Hartford's attractions and the new Conventional Center. We think it's the combination of wonderful lodging and an outstanding brew cafe that places this spot on our local getaway list.

Room Tip: There is on site parking at this Marriott, both outside and garage at $17.00 a night. A basic compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised during our recent weekend stay at the Residence Inn in downtown Hartford. As others have mentioned, the rooms are huge and while the decor is somewhat dated, our 2 bedroom suite was spotless. We were at the back of the hotel and didn't hear noise from any other room or street traffic, but the heat/air conditioning system was somewhat noisy. Breakfast was the usual Residence Inn fare. What made our trip so pleasant was the very welcoming staff at the front desk and breakfast room, and the housekeeping and maintenance staff. Everyone greeted us with a smile, and asked if there was anything they could do for us. Special props to Constance (I believe that was her name) at the front desk, who made it her mission to find us a room so we could check in early and rest. (She even volunteered to help housekeeping clean the room!) The location was fine--about 4 blocks from the convention center--and the area seemed reasonably safe. I would not hesitate to stay here again, should I ever travel back to Hartford.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are probably quieter as there's no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Thanks to our modern medical system, the hospital allowed me only one night for a difficult hernia operation. Afterward I was in pain, couldn't walk, and wasn't ready to have someone drive me the 5 hours home only to be at the doctor's office again in 2 days. The Residence Inn has a reasonable rate for Hartford Hospital connected patients, an on-site wheelchair, and a front desk and other staff that are kind if you are having difficulty. I recuperated there for 2 days, hardly getting out of bed. There is room service if you are up to eating, but I can't speak to this since sleep was the priority. The hotel is near the hospital. I tipped generously for extra service like being taken to the cab in a wheelchair, but the important part was that the service was available. All in all, the 2 days in the hotel were absolutely the right thing for me to do to recover and the Residence Inn was the right place..

Room Tip: They have a large handicapped-accessible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location- very close to the bus/Amtrak station. I was lucky to get a discounted group rate (140+tax per night) as i was visiting Hartford for a wedding. Not sure I would have stayed if I had to pay the full rate, but it was a nice experience. The room was spacious (bed was on a separate "floor") and very clean. Everything closes early in Hartford so I was very happy that they had snacks for purchase when I Got hungry late night. Management was nice and breakfast in the morning was good. Would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Hartford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Hartford Downtown

Address: 942 Main Street, Hartford, CT 06103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Hartford Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown Hotel Hartford
Hartford Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.