We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Hartford Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Hartford Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   942 Main Street, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Residence Inn overnight in downtown Hartford and had a fantastic experience. Once I figured out where the parking lot was everything went smoothly. you do have to pay for parking overnight and the parking lot is behind the building. Once you check in, you receive a parking card that you can use when going to and from the parking lot. The receptionist was great at suggesting some dining spots within walking distance of the hotel. I typically stay at the Marriott chain when conducting business and occasionally, being a Marriott member, I receive bags with a bottle of water and snacks. I noticed them behind the counter but the receptionist did not offer one to me. Not a big deal. The room was excellent. There was a lot of room for me to do work and a living room area where I was able to unwind and watch television. The room was very large and all of the amenities I needed for an overnight stay. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay while visiting downtown Hartford.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    55
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
38
27
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at this Residence Inn. We were upgraded at check in two a two bedroom unit (from a 1 bedroom). The staff was great, whether it was the front desk or repair of the sink disposal, the staff was really friendly and attentive. The unit had plenty of amenities with the full kitchen and living space along with two bedrooms and baths. The unit was very clean, the breakfast definitely good for a day's start. On the downside, the furniture is definitely showing its age and should be replaced along with the very firm mattresses. With the benefits of everything else we could overlook the shortcoming. I hope by our next stay they might change those mattresses though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback. We are glad we were able to provide you with the upgraded suite that you enjoyed. We understand your point about the furniture and mattress. We are scheduled to receive a full renovation of the property toward the end of this year which we are very excited about. Thank you again for your comments.
We hope to see you back to enjoy our renovations with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was staying with some old friends and we wanted the following amenities:
1. Large, clean room (check)
2. Friendly Staff (check)
3. Convenience to downtown restaurants/bars (check/check)
4. Easy Parking (check)
5. A pizza place that is open after bars close right next door (check...well, ok so that wasn't a deal breaker, BUT it was an excellent perk we took advantage of at 2am)

We had a perfectly fine night at the Residence Inn and all expectations were met. We missed the breakfast so we can't comment on that, but I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

What does one look for in a hotel. Great room -- yup one with a loft and large, good service -- a smiling person at the reception desk at 1am to the front desk folks who made you welcome when you walked in, a decent meal -- breakfast is included -- make your own waffles or have some cereal -- to some decent brews at the brewery next door.

We got there at 1am and there is a pizza place next door that does 'room service' go figure. :-)

Park underground behind the hotel for a reasonable charge, enjoy the dual TVs in your loft room that sleeps 4 and have a good time in Hartford

Kudos to the management at this Residence Inn. Please thank the front desk and the folks manning the breakfast room for their excellent service.

Room Tip: Get one with a loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Family of 5 really enjoyed the 2 King bedroom suite (and pull out sofa)! The staff was very helpful. Stayed to go see the show at the Bushnell Theatre, The Grinch! Pizza for lunch right next door. A beer and a burger for dinner after the show, right next door. Parking is behind the hotel.
15,000 points vs 20,000 at the Marriott which does not include breakfast. Free wifi and free breakfast and room for a family of 5 in one room, what a no brainer!

Room Tip: Room 325 is Massive, two full bathrooms, three TV's, and a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
465 reviews 465 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you read the other reviews for this hotel everyone comments on the unusual interior design. That's what happens when you renovate an old building into a hotel. Yes, it is kind of odd but as a very frequent traveler - 200 plus nights in a hotel per year - something out of the ordinary is welcome as long as it is clean, quiet and safe. This Residence Inn meets all three criteria. My room was one of the bi-level ones with 20 foot ceilings and very quiet.

A couple specific critiques, though. First, if you are driving here enter your GPS address for 942 Market St, not Main St as that is where the parking lot entrance can be found. I went around the block twice trying to find it. Second, what's up with having sausage gravy for biscuits and gravy but no biscuits? The breakfast buffet was fine but I don't see why they had the sausage gravy and no biscuits! I travel frequently down South and this would have been an issue if not a revolt!

Other than those two minor concerns this is a nice place with a great staff. Everyone I met smiled and was very pleasant!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The architecture of the building is really interesting... and the lofty rooms are a bit surprising, with a fully-equipped kitchen, a sort of lounge, and two TV sets (one on each "floor")... Good bedding. With such a big room area, it would be interesting to have two beds, because the sofa bed is definitely not a good option.
There is a parking lot just behind the hotel and the location is perfect, specially for those who need to go to the XL Center.
The complimentary breakfast is less than standard, unfortunately.
The price was a bit too high for what we got (maybe because there was an NBA game at the XL Center this very day).
A special mention to the front desk lady, Leslie, helpful, efficient and always smiling!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Hartford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Hartford Downtown

Address: 942 Main Street, Hartford, CT 06103
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Hartford Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown Hotel Hartford
Hartford Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.