We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Stay While on Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hartford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Hartford to your Saves list
Hilton Hartford
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Trumbull Street, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Midwest
1 review
“A Nice Place to Stay While on Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

I have traveled to the Hartford Hilton while conducting insurance business for the past 3 years. I have recently completed my assignment in Hartford so I had to say good-bye earlier in the months to everyone at the hotel who had become my second family, to the doormen, to the people at the front desk, to the service people.

I wanted to especially thank Donna, the hotel's bartender who kept me company many evenings when I traveled alone and without other co-workers. She is an awesome person and quite the gem!

I also want to thank Rosa who cleaned my room on the 18th floor with such care and friendliness. She always went out of her way to make sure she said good morning to me and to have a nice day. It's the little things that mean A TON when you are on the road.

Honestly I am sad to say good-bye to the people who ended up meaning so much to me! Great hotel with great people!!!!!

I miss it already!

  • Liked — Coffee pot in room and bottles of water
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    198
    96
    52
    28
See reviews for
76
87
46
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

I recently stayed at the Hartford Hilton for Business. The hotel was very well maintained and seemed to be recently renovated. My room was clean, the bed was very comfortable with a covered duvet (which I much prefer to nasty hotel comforters). TV wasn't huge, but came out of the cabinet and could be turned for the best viewing angle.

Parking was convenent in the attached garage.

Had breakfast in the resturant downstairs, which was average - typical hotel resturant quality - except for some expired yogurt that one of my co-workers grabed before looking at the expiration date.

Overall, the hotel lived up to my expectations for a full-service Hilton

  • Liked — Quality, Cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

This is the third time I have stayed at the hotel. It is a solid business hotel, but not outstanding. It is an older hotel that has been nicely renovated. You can't hide some stuff like the older, slower elevators, small bathooms, etc. My room had a stale odor this time -- didn't notice this on earlier visits (room 1906). I do like that you can open a ventilation "hatch" under the windows and get fresh air. Odd numbered rooms (at a higher level) have the view of the CT state capital and most of downtown, the even number rooms have views of the river.

The TV, bed, bathroom fixtures are all the new Hilton stuff, which is great. The restaurant downstairs is good but not great (seeing a pattern here?). Although a lot better than a lot of Hilton restaurants I have been to. I think it wants to be hipper than it is. Since it's primarily a business location, I would think work harder on the basics rather than hipness. For instance, eating dinner at the bar with a book, newspaper, or other reading material is impossible due to the low lighting (bartender and manager both said they have no control over lighting as it is automated -- strange).

The parking is easy in the building, and it is close to everything downtown. The staff is friendly and mostly helpful -- although some training is in order as I frequently got wrong answers to questions that I had.

Someone mentioned the TV and storms in an earlier post. There were thunderstorms in the area, and some rain in Hartford and the reception was problematic for hours. They guy at the front desk that I called claimed that no one had complained to it had to be my set and he would send someone up. He called back to say that maintenance was aware of it and that it was related to the satelite dish. It clearly isnt' the first time this has happened, so something should be done to fix this (never saw this at any other hotel). But more importantly, someone at the front desk should be aware that this happens during storms, and not be caught totally unaware.

I have been treated well as a HHonors VIP Diamond, although never upgraded to a suite or anything. Marriot Rewards guys at my company get this at the new Marriott in town. I get exactly what the stated benefit is -- exec level (standard room, bathrobes and lounge access).

All and all not a bad place, and will likely stay here again. I have to say that the HHonors program is more important in this decision than the actual hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham Market, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Hilton Harford is centrally located and easy to find from the Interstate. As an executive city hotel (as opposed to mainly tourist trade) I did expect a little bit more from the executive floor (as found in Hiltons in other parts of the world). However in the executive lounge Continental Breakfast really is that! - If you're hungry go for the full breakfast package in the coffee shop on the ground floor and save on the executive rates - from talking to visitors in the lift the rooms on the lower floors all seem to have the same amenities .

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

This Hilton features good facilities in a convenient
location. The well-furnished rooms as well as
the gym and indoor pool do justice to the Hilton name.
The staff is friendly and tries to be helpful.

The Hartford Hilton Hotel has two drawbacks though. First is
its location basically next to a major highway, producing a fair bit
of background noise. We stayed first on the 10th floor where
the highway noise was audible by night. This background
noise was dwarfed by the ruckus caused by the party(?)
going on in the room(s) across the hall, which produced 2 hours
of regular loud door-knockings and hallway conversations.
At midnight, I finally contacted the front desk staff; who did not
express surprise or concern about these late-night happenings
before calling security.

Even on the 17th floor, at night, I felt that I heard virtually every truck
passing by on the highway as well as some revelers carousing
on the streets below near the XL Center.

Second, though all staff members were friendly and
well-intentioned, the staff seemed prone to minor slip-ups.
These slips-ups included mis-delivering room bills, producing
room keys that did not work, not understanding travelers' checks,
etc. Perhaps the staff could receive better training to enhance
service standards?

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

Not worth the full price- priceline this hotel.

stayed on 18th floor in a non smoking room - however it smells like smoke. Just called the front desk to verify - the 17th and 18th floors are non smoking. DO NOT STAY if you are allergic to cig smoke. my eyes are burning as I type this.

Great location if you are attending a show at the amphitheater - you can walk to the venue (about 1 mile) and enjoy the views.

the cafe downstairs had ok food - I mean this is a downtown area, you should be able to find a few places that cater to the downtown work crowd. (ie: dunkin donuts, etc)

elevators- S L O W. if you are in ANY type of rush, the elevator speed with quickly put a damper on your sense of urgency.

Bathroom was a bit small, bed was adequate.

there was a few food particles on the floor of the room - looks like housekeeping didnt double check their work...

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Non smoking room smells like smoke..
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

I attended a conference at this hotel and stayed here for 3 nights. The carpeting in the room was very stained, the telephones didn't work and my bathroom was incredibly small. The Conceirge Personnel were very helpful. The front desk clerk seemed bored and bothered when someone asked her a question. The first night was boring as there was a storm in the area and the satellite tv wasn't working.
We ate breakfast at the M & M Cafe and it was very good. We would stay here again as most of the issues were minor.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hartford

Address: 315 Trumbull Street, Hartford, CT 06103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hartford
#3 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Hartford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Hartford hotel is a shining star in the skyline of the historic city of Hartford, Connecticut. With a central Downtown location and connection to the XL Center, guests have access to outstanding area sports, cultural and consumer show events. Many of Hartford's corporate offices are also within walking distance of the Hilton Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hartford Hotel Hartford
Hilton Hotel Hartford
Hartford Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hartford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.