We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better the first time....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hartford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Hartford to your Saves list
Hilton Hartford
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Trumbull Street, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Better the first time....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Hartford Hilton twice now and the first time was the best (great food AND service)...I came for a seminar this time and was happy to be here except for the fact hey treated me like a second class citizen. The staff is nice (especially in the on-site restaurant) but they were charging the people who did not stay at the hotel $10 for parking and me (who was staying there) $18 per day!!! You'd think they would comp me the $8 since I spent $175 to stay there, but no! The front desk was polite, but firm in the $18. Needless to say, I will find other accommodations from now on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm sincerely sorry that our parking fee became a concern during your stay. I like to clarify this for the TripAdvisor members and our future guests.

The parking garage that services our hotel is leased from the city. This is an arrangement found at numerous hotels located in downtown city centers across the country; Hartford included. As a result, hotels have no choice but to pass along a parking expense to their guests. Often meeting or event organizers negotiate a reduced parking rate for patrons of events occurring at the hotel – so I suspect this is the case in your experience.

I truly value your feedback and do thank you for the complements regarding our friendly associates and food. I sincerely hope you allow us the opportunity to serve you again.

Anish Patney,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    218
    106
    54
    33
See reviews for
87
94
52
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Hilton hosted our high school reunion and they were great. The food and service were beyond complaint. Many of our alumni stayed for the night and all were pleased with the rooms and comfort level.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I would like to personally thank you for your positive hotel review. We are delighted we were able to provide you with such comfortable accommodations during your recent reunion. I will be certain to share your comments regarding the efficiency of our staff and the quality of our food. I hope you allow us to be you home away from home again soon.

Anish Patney,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Disappointed with this hotel. Feels like aged property not maintaining the excellence level of a brand. The corridors are smelling dampy even though the room is OK. In the same time the hotel has good gym and the pool looks OK.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest of our hotel and sharing feedback from your stay with the TripAdvisor community. Our facilities team continually works to improve the maintenance practices and your feedback is appreciated related to what they need to address. I am happy to read that you were able to take advantage of the gym and pool during your stay. By sharing your observations, we are able to provide a quality experience to all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you at our hotel again very soon.

Anish Patney,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Good location near dining, central to business locations. Not the cleanest or best maintained, but it sufficed. Heating/AC unit was quiet, which was better than at many hotels. Has a small refrigerator, very convenient, and they provide a bottle of water each day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Somehow Hiltons never seem to make it "special"....the basic room, basic amenities, nice desk staff, slow elevator. Good location if you are in the city. Public garage parking at $18 a day. Nice treats for sale in the lobby. USA today available to pick up in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for being a guest of our hotel and for sharing feedback from your stay with the TripAdvisor community. Your comments regarding our staff are appreciated. During your next stay with us please let our Front Office Manager know if we can provide you with any additional amenities and we will certainly accommodate you in any way we can. Our top priority is the satisfaction of our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to serve your future needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed over the past weekend for a wedding. Most of the employees were very helpful but one in particular, Charice (I believe), was a real problem solver and truly focused upon customer satisfaction. Had trouble with the shower pressure the 2nd night (night of the wedding). Engineer couldn't fix it on the spot, so they offered us another room. It was nearly midnight and our 1 year old was asleep, so they agreed to let us use the other room just to shower and then keep our original room as the sleeper. Indoor pool very nice. Enjoyed our stay and can recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I would like to take a moment to acknowledge your review on Tripadvisor. I am grateful to read that you found our staff friendly and I will certainly pass along your comments regarding Cherene. Our first priority is the satisfaction of our guests and I am happy to read we were able to accommodate you during the unfortunate water pressure issue. We strive for excellence in all we do and your feedback is truly appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here two nights this past weekend for a wedding. There was a block of rooms at another hotel we were encouraged to use due to that hotel offering a shuttle to and from the reception. Being thrifty and a frequent traveler, I was sure I could do better myself. Sure did!! We got this hotel for the half the price of the Holiday Inn across the river the rest of the wedding goers used. They also had a horrible experience with the "convenient" shuttle. I'll just say the only people who got to the reception on time and were able to stay til the end were those who did not use the shuttle but anyway this is a review about the Hilton. Which I must say was a perfect walking distance if you find yourself attending an event at the Elks lodge. We arrived the find Michigan flags, t shirts, and the like everywhere! Turns out Michigan was playing UCONN, and they were staying in our hotel. There seemed to maybe be a few weddings as well. Even with this much going on, there were no disturbances whatsoever and the service was top notch. After check-in, we went back to the front desk to ask if there were nearby restaurants in a walkable distance that would be open. The lady a the front desk (Chantel? Wish I would have taken a better note of her nametag) told us about a brewery cafe a short walk away that we enjoyed so much we went the next day too before the wedding. When we passed by the front desk the next day, she greeted us, called us her friends and asked about our dinner the night before. The front desk showed us the location of the wedding and the reception on the map and suggested a taxi would be our best bet for reception transportation if we wanted to avoid driving ourselves. We did end up walking but the gentleman and lady at the desk (again, wishing I'd taken note of their names) were so helpful. I would book this hotel again with zero hesitation. The only thing I would have changed would have been the noise of the air-conditioner. The first night, it didn't bother me so much but the second night it was really annoying. I ended up turning it off. I have an old window unit at home and it doesn't make a fraction of the noise and rattling this thing did. Not sure why a hotel of this caliber would have such a noisy piece of equipment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hartford

Address: 315 Trumbull Street, Hartford, CT 06103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hartford
#2 Green Hotel in Hartford
#3 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Hartford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Hartford hotel is a shining star in the skyline of the historic city of Hartford, Connecticut. With a central Downtown location and connection to the XL Center, guests have access to outstanding area sports, cultural and consumer show events. Many of Hartford's corporate offices are also within walking distance of the Hilton Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hartford Hotel Hartford
Hilton Hotel Hartford
Hartford Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hartford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.