We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hartford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Hartford to your Saves list
Hilton Hartford
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Trumbull Street, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Your basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Somehow Hiltons never seem to make it "special"....the basic room, basic amenities, nice desk staff, slow elevator. Good location if you are in the city. Public garage parking at $18 a day. Nice treats for sale in the lobby. USA today available to pick up in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for being a guest of our hotel and for sharing feedback from your stay with the TripAdvisor community. Your comments regarding our staff are appreciated. During your next stay with us please let our Front Office Manager know if we can provide you with any additional amenities and we will certainly accommodate you in any way we can. Our top priority is the satisfaction of our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to serve your future needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    184
    89
    47
    28
See reviews for
73
78
44
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed over the past weekend for a wedding. Most of the employees were very helpful but one in particular, Charice (I believe), was a real problem solver and truly focused upon customer satisfaction. Had trouble with the shower pressure the 2nd night (night of the wedding). Engineer couldn't fix it on the spot, so they offered us another room. It was nearly midnight and our 1 year old was asleep, so they agreed to let us use the other room just to shower and then keep our original room as the sleeper. Indoor pool very nice. Enjoyed our stay and can recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I would like to take a moment to acknowledge your review on Tripadvisor. I am grateful to read that you found our staff friendly and I will certainly pass along your comments regarding Cherene. Our first priority is the satisfaction of our guests and I am happy to read we were able to accommodate you during the unfortunate water pressure issue. We strive for excellence in all we do and your feedback is truly appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here two nights this past weekend for a wedding. There was a block of rooms at another hotel we were encouraged to use due to that hotel offering a shuttle to and from the reception. Being thrifty and a frequent traveler, I was sure I could do better myself. Sure did!! We got this hotel for the half the price of the Holiday Inn across the river the rest of the wedding goers used. They also had a horrible experience with the "convenient" shuttle. I'll just say the only people who got to the reception on time and were able to stay til the end were those who did not use the shuttle but anyway this is a review about the Hilton. Which I must say was a perfect walking distance if you find yourself attending an event at the Elks lodge. We arrived the find Michigan flags, t shirts, and the like everywhere! Turns out Michigan was playing UCONN, and they were staying in our hotel. There seemed to maybe be a few weddings as well. Even with this much going on, there were no disturbances whatsoever and the service was top notch. After check-in, we went back to the front desk to ask if there were nearby restaurants in a walkable distance that would be open. The lady a the front desk (Chantel? Wish I would have taken a better note of her nametag) told us about a brewery cafe a short walk away that we enjoyed so much we went the next day too before the wedding. When we passed by the front desk the next day, she greeted us, called us her friends and asked about our dinner the night before. The front desk showed us the location of the wedding and the reception on the map and suggested a taxi would be our best bet for reception transportation if we wanted to avoid driving ourselves. We did end up walking but the gentleman and lady at the desk (again, wishing I'd taken note of their names) were so helpful. I would book this hotel again with zero hesitation. The only thing I would have changed would have been the noise of the air-conditioner. The first night, it didn't bother me so much but the second night it was really annoying. I ended up turning it off. I have an old window unit at home and it doesn't make a fraction of the noise and rattling this thing did. Not sure why a hotel of this caliber would have such a noisy piece of equipment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I decided to take my wife away for a Saturday night using my Hilton Honors points. I chose Hartford because we'd never been there and it was within driving distance for us. Booking was done online using my points. We arrived at about 4 pm for check in. There were a lot of people walking around with U Michigan shirts on so I knew something was up. It turned out it was the U Michigan UConn football game day and we stumbled on it. Didn't matter, check in was great. Easy and efficient. The lobby is nicely appointed. We were given a room on the 20th floor. Nice sized room, very clean, efficiently sized bathroom. Very comfortable. Great night for sleeping too. The location seemed nice but it was a Saturday afternoon/evening and it's a business district so it was a bit quiet. It was close to the XL Center though so if you're attending an event it would be conveniently located. My only gripe was the dining experience (which is for another review) at the M&M Cafe in the lobby. Would definitely stay again if traveling to Hartford.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY- L.I.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here to attend the UConn-UMichigan football game at nearby Renschler Field. The hotel was very professionally run, the room was spacious and excellently appointed and the hotel was near the stadium. All around a good stay and a fine hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I would like to take a moment to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Our top priority is the satisfaction of our guests and we look forward to the opportunity to serve your future needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for a business conference. Rooms were nice, beds comfortable and plenty of space. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to Bushnell park if you want to walk outdoors. Food served at conference by hotel was very good. Indoor pool and exercise equipment were great for keeping in shape after sitting aroudn a conference room all day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your Tripadvisor review of our hotel. Our number one priority is the satisfaction of our guests. I will certainly pass along to our management that you found our staff helpful and you enjoyed the quality of our food. I am also appreciative of your enjoyment of our fitness facilities. Only through comments such as yours are we able to continue to provide a quality experience to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I'm comparing my experience here to Hiltons in NYC, Indianapolis, L.A. The room is large (king bed), clean, bed is comfortable, as is temperature; great desk area for work, fridge is a plus as I'm here for 4 nights; counter space in bathroom, decent shower pressure, fluffy towels, in-room safe, and lots of closet space. Nice fitness area and there's a small indoor pool and whirlpool. That the hotel happens to be close to historical attractions is nice; there seem to be plenty of restaurants off Pratt Street, Main, and near Union Station. The hotel's M&M Bistro has a great breakfast buffet; dinner was ok. Read my separate review. As in all downtown urban areas, be wary. I jogged in Bushnell Park this afternoon, and fine in daylight, but not a nighttime hang out spot. The Capitol Building is awesome to view from the park. Seems this area caters to business travelers and theater goers; there doesn't seem to be many residents in the downtown area, thus some restaurants/shops close early (5 p.m.) Hotel is walking distance to Wadsworth Atheneum, Old State House, Riverfront, Ancient Cemetery. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hartford

Address: 315 Trumbull Street, Hartford, CT 06103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hartford
#3 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Hartford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Hartford hotel is a shining star in the skyline of the historic city of Hartford, Connecticut. With a central Downtown location and connection to the XL Center, guests have access to outstanding area sports, cultural and consumer show events. Many of Hartford's corporate offices are also within walking distance of the Hilton Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hartford Hotel Hartford
Hilton Hotel Hartford
Hartford Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hartford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.