We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Hartford” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hartford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Hartford to your Saves list
Hilton Hartford
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Trumbull Street, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fresno, United States
1 review
“Hilton Hartford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My room was overall good. Only complaint is i heard crying baby in the room next to mine. I'm pretty patient with kids though...I have my own 6 month old. But would reccomend to anyone stopping by in the area for business or pleasure. Good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review on TripAdvisor. I am grateful to read that you would recommend our hotel and that the location was ideal during your stay. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you at our hotel again soon.

Duane Schroder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    218
    106
    54
    33
See reviews for
87
95
52
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've stayed here a number of times over the years for work. I prefer to stay at Hiltons when traveling and, while the Homewood Suites in Hartford is a newer property, it's very loud due to the location so I stay at the Hilton on Trumbull. Usually my room is in decent shape. The rugs show wear, but it's not a new hotel. I feel like the linens and bathrooms are pretty clean and the staff is fine.

The problem for me with this hotel is the parking garage. The last time I stayed there I reported to the front desk staff that there were some men causing a disturbance in the garage when I parked my car. I didn't feel particularly safe because, if they were monitoring the garage (shouldn't they be? it's under their property and it's for hotel guests only), then they would have seen the issue. Still, I guess it didn't upset me that much because - months later - I booked there again. I parked in the garage twice yesterday (left to go out to dinner). The first time there was a condom, some soda cans and some other junk in the parking spot next to my car. The second time I walked around my car and saw beer bottles, a fast food bag, and a stack of meat - seriously. There were what looked like a couple of steaks on the ground with a pile of hot dogs on top of them. It was kind of dark and I wasn't sure what I was looking at. It was all still there this morning when I went to my car. I hate to give up on the Hilton chain but, when in Hartford, I think I'll switch to the Marriott. The parking garage is just too awful at the Hilton.

Room Tip: High floor to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I would like to take a moment to acknowledge your review on TripAdvisor. Please know that the safety and security of each of our guests is our top priority and we take these matters seriously. Regarding the parking garage, unfortunately we do not own the garage and are required to lease space from the city of Hartford. The Hilton Hartford security team patrols the Hilton side of the garage and takes every measure to guarantee this area is secure for our guests. I have forwarded your comments to the Hartford Parking Authority and have stressed the importance of taking immediate action to ensure a safe and sanitary parking experience.

We value your input and hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality service and accommodations you expect from us during your next trip to Hartford. Please feel free to contact me directly if you should have and further concerns.

Duane Schroder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawling, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I attended a reading conference in the hotel with a group of colleagues and had a very pleasant stay. The banquet staff was very attentive during our conference. I recently had shoulder surgery and needed a chair with arms for the week. Banquet manager, Luis Medina gave me his desk chair in order to make sure I was comfortable. Talk about going above and beyond for the client! They checked on us frequently to adjust the temperature and make sure we were all happy. The drinks and coffee were fine, but we were all looking for the light snacks that most conference centers provide for their conference guests. The hotel room was comfortable and clean. We would have enjoyed a greater selection of tv channels, and the hair dryer's handle got hot and burned my hands when I used it! There was a housekeeper on the 7th floor who was also lovely and accommodating as I needed to get a bag of ice and towel to take care of my injury - I wish I had gotten her name. Overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I would like to take a moment to thank you personally for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. I will certainly pass along your comments regarding Luis Medina and the Banquet staff. While I am glad you enjoyed the comfort of your room I apologize for the unfortunate incident with the hairdryer. This seems to be an isolated incident and I am happy to hear that our housekeeping staff was attentive to this matter. Thank you again for your comments. We truly value your experience you look forward to welcoming you back.

Duane Schroder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Over 300.00 for a night and Ugh. Walk the hallways and meet other people who can't get into their rooms because the key card system barely works. Wake up with acute sinusitus from an AC system that sucks all moisture out of the air. Shave in a bathroom with barely the same lighting as a nightlight. Enjoy a desk with a lamp with a broken switch. Wait over 30 minutes for an order of scrambled eggs and toast in the restaurant only to find out the kitchen never got the order. At least I had lukewarm tea to sip while I waited. And then enjoy checking out by watching both customers at the desk loudly complain about errors on their bills. I'm too tired to list other indignities.

This used to be a reasonably priced hotel with good service. Those days are gone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay with the TripAdvisor community. Your input related to your food service is appreciated and is something I’ll use as we work to continuously improve our hotel. I do apologize for your poor experience with our key cards. I am actively working with our facilities team to correct the key problems that some of our extended stay guests may experience. We strive to make every guests' experience a positive one and we are sorry you were disappointed. We will use your comments as part of our ongoing training as we work towards the goal of superior hospitality. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in Hartford so that we may show you the hotel experience you deserve.

Duane Schroder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

What kind of a hotel offers a room without a bed? The Hilton Hartford! I am a Hilton HHonors Silver participant and was checked into room 703 on July 16, 2013 at the Hilton Hartford and found the room to be furnished with no bed (only a pull out couch), no desk, no chair, and no alarm clock. In exchange for my discomfort, Hilton gave me a complimentary 1-liter bottle of Fiji water and a 9-piece box of chocolates. No discount off the rate I paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The price quote when reserved online was not the price I received. The staff did nothing but pass me from one person to another and the final "manager" just wanted me to wait until I checked out and look at the final statement. I will not use my final day of vacation for that. We were on the 21st floor and could hear traffic like we were on the first floor. Also could here conversations from rooms on either side.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was my second year staying at the Hilton Hartford for ConnectiCon. It is a comparable price to the Marriot, which is connected directly with the convention center, and it is a short shuttle ride or walk away (about 10 minutes).

The hotel was very clean, the staff were very helpful and quick, and they accommodated last minute requests for my group and managed to get us two connecting rooms, allowing us to spread out a bit easier. The beds were very comfortable. Even during the high traffic times of the convention, the hotel was fairly quiet and the security guards are quick to disperse any crowding and noise that may come from people in the hallways.

As I was traveling light, I had to make use of the hotel shampoo and wash. They were fantastic, had a subtle, but pleasant scent, and left my hair very smooth and clean. The pool is great, but the hot tub and saunas are a little on the small side, so beware if you suffer from claustrophobia. The fitness center here is 24/7, so daily routines are not a problem here.

A little coffee maker is in each room with some complementary coffee, but this doesn't last long. Also, the news stand beverages and drinks are quite expensive. You are better off purchasing from a vending machine which charges a little more than average. The restaurant there is a little on the expensive side due to its convenience, but the food is fairly good. Look to spend between $15 - $20 for a meal.

It is embedded in the middle of a bunch of restaurants and bars, namely Dunkin Donuts for the morning and City Steam for the evening. This made it much easier to get great food and enjoy late evenings without having to walk across Hartford late at night or pick up a cab. The streets around the hotel are quite open and clean as well.

I will warn you that price for the hotel parking garage is quite steep, though this is not unusual to travelers familiar with parking in Hartford. It is $18.00 per night when you validate your parking pass with the hotel. This will be charged on your hotel bill for your convenience. This makes leaving the parking garage smooth. The bright side of this is the in and out privileges that comes with the cost. If you will be needing to use your car, you aren't stuck paying in and out every time.

Another option is finding alternative transportation to the hotel as the star shuttle, which is just across the street from the hotel, will provide you with a free service to many key locations throughout Hartford. This makes getting around without a car easier.

All in all it was a positive experience and my friends and I enjoyed ourselves at the convention.

Room Tip: The 5th Floor will give you access to the pool, fitness center, and locker rooms. If you are going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for being a guest of our hotel and for sharing the positive feedback from your stay with the TripAdvisor community. Your comments regarding the efficiency of our staff and quality of our rooms are much appreciated. The line of amenities that you enjoyed in your room are from Peter Thomas Roth. I am happy that you were able to benefit from the fitness center as well as the ease of the Star shuttle. Regarding the parking fee, unfortunately we do not own the garage and are required to lease space from the City of Hartford. As a result like many similar downtown hotels throughout the country we have no choice but to pass along the expense to our guests. This being said, thank you for acknowledging the convenience of having this charge billed directly to your guest room. Our top priority is the satisfaction of our guests and we look forward to the opportunity to serve your future needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hartford

Address: 315 Trumbull Street, Hartford, CT 06103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hartford
#2 Green Hotel in Hartford
#3 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Hartford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Hartford hotel is a shining star in the skyline of the historic city of Hartford, Connecticut. With a central Downtown location and connection to the XL Center, guests have access to outstanding area sports, cultural and consumer show events. Many of Hartford's corporate offices are also within walking distance of the Hilton Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hartford Hotel Hartford
Hilton Hotel Hartford
Hartford Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hartford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.