We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable and Helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hartford

Save Saved
You added Hilton Hartford to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Hartford
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Trumbull Street, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milton, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hospitable and Helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The rate was great, and even though my room was located near the elevators, it was quiet enough and very clean. Most of all, I found the employees to be very helpful and courteous, many of them long time staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am happy we were able to provide you with outstanding service during your stay. I certainly hope to see you at our hotel again soon.

Duane Schroder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    173
    84
    46
    28
See reviews for
71
69
41
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Rates were reasonable for a city, hotel is business class, mostly self-service, but clean and adequate for needs. No major problems were encountered. Staff was helpful and made things go as smoothly as possible. I would have no hesitation about staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I would like to take a moment to thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. The comfort and satisfaction of each guest is our top priority and knowing our staff provided you with exceptional service is much appreciated. I certainly hope you allow us to be you home away from home again soon.

Duane Schroder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This property is conveniently located close to the state capitol and across the street from the XL Center (if you are a UConn fan that could be important to you) and just a few blocks from Union train station.

The lobby has a modern-decor twist to it - there is a bar to the left along with a seating area while the check in desk, hotel elevators (which are separate from the parking garage and convention floor elevators - which is nice) and cafe are to the right. Check in was quick, the staff friendly, all went well.

The hallway on my floor had brown carpeting and stains were obvious - they could use a good cleaning. One thing you will notice right away is the gap between your door and the hallway - it's at least 1". My king-sized room had nice furniture but the overall feel of the room was "average". The condition of the room was good though the metal window frame and base was scratched and pitted, which probably had a great deal to do with the feeling of "meh" to me. The crisp, white sheets were nice as were the ample pillows. A large, flat screen TV complemented the room. The bedside tables did not have accessible outlets which I did not like. I use my phone as my alarm clock and prefer to have it accessible from bed vs. across the room on the desk. Lavazza coffee was the brand with the in-room coffee machine. The HHonors water consisted of only 1 bottle vs. the traditional 2. The bathroom was large, and had a granite counter though the white ceramic tiles and spots of missing grout in the shower area made the space feel somewhat dated. HVAC was strong and it kept my room nice and cool though during the middle of the night the cycle lengthened for some strange reason. Wireless internet is included in the room rate and is available in the room as well as in the public areas - that is a very welcome feature IMO in these days of $9.99 - $14.99/day charges for internet at many hotels. Parking is available for $18 at a garage adjacent to the hotel.

I had breakfast at the cafe - service was very efficient and my food, an American breakfast, was delivered very quickly. Prices are what you would expect from a hotel restaurant, about $20 for eggs, bacon, toast, coffee and juice.

Hartford is not a vacation destination so the hotel is geared towards the business traveler and the rates show. It is not inexpensive whatsoever. The frills are few but the property is comfortable and clean and the service is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share comments on your recent stay with us and for being a valued HHonors member. The detailed feedback you provided will be used as part of our ongoing training as we work towards the goal of superior hospitality. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary internet access and the staff provided efficient and friendly service during your stay. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time business brings you to the area.

Duane Schroder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a typical downtown hotel but what set it apart for me was the excellent service I received from every employee I encountered. The reception desk staff was very friendly and accommodating and employees I met in elevators were equally as friendly and helpful. This staff sincerely wanted my stay to be as pleasant as possible. I even had a reception desk employee recommend a very good taxi driver and for a woman traveling solo that was a great service. Downtown hotels seem to be so similar in many ways but the staff at this Hilton sets it apart for me. The room was clean and comfortable and I had no concerns or issues during my stay. It is centrally located and is within easy walking distance to most locations. I would return without hesitation. Thanks to the entire staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I would like to take a moment to acknowledge your kind review on Trip\Advisor. Please know that your feedback is truly appreciated. I will be certain to share your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff with my management team . Our main focus is serving the needs of our guests and validation that we are accomplishing this is much appreciated.

Duane Schroder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Clean room. Friendly service. Good value for $$. Right off the highway. Close to restaurants (we ate at City Steam Brewery... really good) and right down the street are bars & clubs if that's what you're looking for. Very happy with our stay. Only downside would be the Additional $18 parking fee.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I would like to take a moment to thank you for your positive feedback. Our main focus is serving the needs of our guests and validation that we are accomplishing this is much appreciated. Regarding the parking fee, unfortunately we do not own the garage and are required to lease space from the city of Hartford. As a result like many similar downtown hotels throughout the country we have no choice but to pass along the expense to our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Duane Schroder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Immaculate facilities. Warm, friendly and extremely helpful staff. Lovely convention facilities. Very fair - because of travel difficulties, I arrived after midnight, and they didn't charge me for that night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for being a guest of our hotel and for sharing feedback from your stay with the TripAdvisor community. Your comments regarding our staff and overall cleanliness are appreciated. Our top priority is the satisfaction of our guests and we look forward to the opportunity to serve your future needs.

Duane Schroder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently stayed there for one night with my daughter. The hotel is located in a business district, and while we were there, there was very little going on around it. There are quite a few restaurants and pubs in the area, and I suppose that it is all busier during the week when business travelers are around.

I knew ahead of time about the $18 parking fee; regardless, I am still unhappy about it. It comes across as them being able to keep the room rates low by tacking on this additional fee. The hotel staff at the reception desk were very friendly and welcoming.

The room was basic with two double beds. The television was HD, which really is expected these days. There was a small refrigerator in the room that we used to store some water bottles. That is always a nice touch!

I will say that it is totally and completely unacceptable to have mold growing on the grout in the bathtub. When I see it, I start questioning everything else about the hotel. What else are they not paying attention to? I also found it odd that there was no evidence of a fan or air return in the bathroom to clear the fog from showers. Maybe that's one reason for the mold?

We had a long day before arriving, so we decided to catch a bite to eat in the hotel. I don't think there was anyone else eating there at the same time. We each had sandwiches and they were fine. Probably a few dollars more than what you would get at a restaurant, but not outrageous. If I were to stay again, I would scout out something else.

I was in Hartford for a specific occasion and probably will not be back in some time. Given that I haven't stayed in other hotels in the area, I have nothing to compare it to locally. I am not sure that I would recommend it given the mold in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hartford

Address: 315 Trumbull Street, Hartford, CT 06103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hartford
#3 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Hartford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Hartford hotel is a shining star in the skyline of the historic city of Hartford, Connecticut. With a central Downtown location and connection to the XL Center, guests have access to outstanding area sports, cultural and consumer show events. Many of Hartford's corporate offices are also within walking distance of the Hilton Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hartford Hotel Hartford
Hilton Hotel Hartford
Hartford Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hartford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;