We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hartford Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hartford Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Hartford Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Brainard Road, Hartford, CT 06114 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Montreal, Quebec
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The rooms are exactly what you expect for the price. The wallpaper is peeling a bit, but the rooms are otherwise quite clean. Basic and slightly dated, but more than suitable.What people are saying about the toilet seat not staying up due to the granite top is true; not a big big deal, but you can tell whoever was supervising that upgrade is regretting it. The location is close enough to town. You really need a car though as there is nothing around the hotel. The staff were great and very helpful. The breakfast was well done. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor near the lobby. It gets a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for the 4 star review! We have repaired the wall paper issue in this particular room. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    46
    24
    14
    8
See reviews for
35
29
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and found it to be a very nice hotel. The rooms were clean and we overlooked the capital building. The staff, no matter what time of day, were so friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was nice to have available. I'd definitely stay here again when I'm in Hartford. P.S. Eat at Hot Tomato's next door. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was a good hotel and chose it based on price and other reviews. Greeted when we arrived and the desk clerk was very helpful. Offered some free apple cider at check in as well. The room on the first floor was spacious and clean. The bed was good and had no issues with the bathroom. Had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was good especially as included in the price and you could have cereal, muffins, waffles, sausages and egg and tea/juice/coffee. Check out was straight forward. A good stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: Our room on the 1st floor was spacious, not sure if all the other rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for the 4 star review. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel room was nice, simple! The hotel was very clean but needs some updates, yet still was pleasant. The hotel manager was working the desk, and breakfast the next morning. You could tell he cared, as well as his staff. Jay was wonderful, and again his staff. They made the stay wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope to see your group again. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

They provided convenient shuttle bus to and from any downtown spots within 10 miles. You just need to let them know where you are or where you would like to go. The driver Luis was professional and very friendly.
General Manager Lisa checked us in early and gave us a free upgrade to a larger Junior Suite with a sitting area, sofa and 2 large LCD TVs. The room was rather quiet and comfy during our stay.
Lovely complimentary continental breakfast with many options which was a great way to start our day.
Pool was somewhat cold but a lot of people enjoyed it. Spa worked well but the water was very cold during our stay.
Overall this hotel was a good budget choice for touring Harford.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for the 4 star review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Whenever I return to Hartford, i stay at this hotel just off I-91 a couple of miles south of downtown. I've always had a good experience, even on one of those Saturday night young kids' concert nights mentioned by others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived early to use the pool ( not heated ) , then go to a concert that nite...Pool is very clean , but cold....Our room was on the second floor. The second you got off the elevator it was like being in a sauna... The wash area for all the linens is right there and they leave the door open... HOT>HOT ... The room was nice, large and very clean. Beds were a little hard.It was cool in the room. We used the shuttle to go to dinner and then he came back and took us to the concert... Santos was our driver...No charge, just a tip....The front desk gave us a cab company to get back from the concert...OMG... Speeding, reckless driving, you name it...And we talked to 4 other cab riders who experianced the same sort of trip back....Didn't eat the breakfast so i can't rate it..

Room Tip: Stay on first floor.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear JAMAINTHEWIND,

I am sorry you experienced some issues. You may contact me at hartfordgm@wnwhospitality.com. The outdoor seasonal pool is actually heated and I have not been informed of an issue so I appreciate you letting me know so I may follow up.

Unfortunately, the second floor ventilation was down for two weeks until the new compressor arrived. It is working now. In addition, if you could let me know what cab company we recommended so I can address with the staff I would greatly appreciate it.

I hope you enjoyed the concert.

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartford Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Hotel & Suites

Address: 185 Brainard Road, Hartford, CT 06114 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hartford Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartford Hotel & Suites is located just minutes from downtown Hartford and the crossroads of New England, I-91 and I-84.Our recently renovated hotel offers standard amenities that other hotels call extra: complimentary breakfast with hot items, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, complimentary shuttle service to the greater Hartford area, complimentary parking, complimentary business center, complimentary exercise facility, complimentary local and toll-free calls, plus much more. Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check-in.With 129 guest rooms, including 44 suites, the Hartford Hotel & Suites has the room that you are looking for. All of our guest rooms include coffee makers, iron & ironing boards, pay-per-view movies and Nintendo games, video folio review and check-out, two telephones with data ports, hair dryer and work desk. Our suites also have small sitting areas with sofa bed, mini refrigerator, microwave and wet bar.The Hartford Hotel & Suites Hartford is located next door to the award winning Chowder Pot Restaurant which offers moderately priced seafood dishes plus much more. The next time you are planning to stay in the Hartford area, choose the Hartford Hotel & Suites Hartford. 'Just check in and leave the rest to us!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hartford Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartford Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.