We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean, Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Brainard Road, Hartford, CT 06114 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Alexandria Bay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean, Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I don't usually write reviews of hotels but this was a good one for being a chain on the lower to mid level. While not in a neighborhood that offers much other than business, the hotel is easy to find from the Interstate and next to the general aviation airport. Plenty of parking and the outside is well maintained. The rooms are clean and in good shape. The staff were very welcoming and engaging. They seemed happy that I was there, good sign!
The breakfast is a little weak but not terrible just limtied selection. I can always find cereal or yogurt and a banana. If you want a breakfast buffet you should go elsewhere.
Overall a good experience and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Robert H,

Thanks you for the recommendation of our hotel and staff! I appreciate your time. Many guests do enjoy the convenience of complimentary parking as downtown charges and we offer a free shuttle service so you don't have to worry about traffic!

Hope to see you soon!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    67
    27
    15
    8
See reviews for
50
39
27
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for one night as me and friends attended a concert at XL Center. Super clean hotel, amazing service, shuttle service that brought us anywhere we needed to go. The room was outstanding, showers/bathrooms clean. An excellent hotel that was just what we needed. Would absolutely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Kevinc445,

Thank you so much for an awesome review! I agree we are a good place to stay when having events in Hartford as we do offer the complimentary shuttle so guests do not have to worry about driving in unknown territory or pay for parking.

Hope to see you soon!

Lisa Bublitz
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I recently stayed at this Holiday Inn for a one-night business trip. I can't say there was anything exceptional or particularly poor about this hotel... it was simply average. For a one or two night stay, I think it's fine. The hotel is not conveniently located, so having a car is probably a necessity. My room was clean enough, as was the rest of the hotel. The fitness room had very limited equipment, but was sufficient for a decent workout. Also, the breakfast had an okay selection.

As for customer service, most of the employees were very friendly. I came into contact with many ladies from the housekeeping staff and all were extremely friendly. Arsenio, who checked me in, was also friendly. However, the woman behind the counter who helped me when my room key wasn't working, barely managed a "you're welcome" when I thanked her for fixing my problem.

Next time I stay in the Hartford area, I will probably book another hotel, but am not completely against staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Godiva 0318;

Thank you for your review. The team and I strive for providing excellent service and we did not meet your expectations and for that I do apologize. I like to think we are above average.

I will share this with my staff at our daily stand up meeting as sometimes it is good to see things through the eyes of the guest. Arsenio is a valued member of out team and I am glad you encountered him at check in.

I do hope to see you again!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was driving back home to Ny when I realized that I wasnt going to make it so I decided to stay at a hotel. I read the reviews about your hotel and was very expressed, I called and was very pleased with the front desk agent so I informed my wife we will be staying here. It was quite late when we arrived but it was worth it. The front desk agent name was Myrna was very nice, gave me a great rate to begin with, offered us some snacks and recommeded a take out place that would deliver to our room. We were so happy with the service. The hotel was warm, clean and spacious. Even though it was almost time for her shift to be over we got a phone call to make sure everything was ok with our room and if we needed anything before she left. That is EXCELLENT customer service. Our room was comfortable, breakfast was great over all very HAPPY with our stay. We have stayed at alot of Holiday Inn Express and this one by far was one of our best one. Keep up the great work

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Magaly L,

Thank you for such a great review! It is nice to know that indeed guests are reading the reviews and making the decision to stay here. We are so fortunate to have a great team at this hotel---makes all the difference in the world!

Myrna is a definite asset to our team; she is very caring and passionate. Thank you for taking the time to acknoweldge her and the team!

We hope you are driving by again and stop in to say hi!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I also stayed here for one night while visiting the University of Hartford. The room was very spacious, and while it was a bit cool when I arrived, (it was about 10 degrees that night) cranking up the temperature on the heater made a pretty immediate difference.

The real reason I'm giving a 5 star review was the service, though. Everybody was extremely cheerful and seemed genuinely eager to make my stay pleasant - they were NOT just going through the motions. Arsenio was great, as was everybody else (though I don't remember any of their names.)

They held my bags after I checked out, their shuttle bus took me to my campus visit, it brought me back afterwards to pick up my things, and then they dropped me off at a restaurant by the train station when I was done. The complimentary breakfast was modest, but more than adequate; it was more than just a couple of muffins and croissants.

I doubt I'll ever need to stay in Hartford for a night again, but if I do, I'd definitely stay here. It's not luxurious by any stretch, but they treat you as well as the staff at a much more expensive hotel would. They were really committed to good customer service, and it really improved my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear David F,

Service definitely can make or break a hotel in today's world as we all have nice rooms and great bedding packages. But it is the team that goes the extra mile and I am fortunate to work with such a great caring team!

I thank you for acknowledging their hardwork and I do hope to see you soon!

Lisa B
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night while visiting the U of Hartford.
It was clean and the staff was very nice. The room was kind of humid, but otherwise it was fine.
We didnt have a car and it's in a sort of out of the way location - not really near many places to walk to to eat; but they had a lot of take out menus and we were able to order in some food which worked out just fine. They also offer a free shuttle to close locations (such as the university).
Overall, I would stay there again for a short stay of any type if I needed to be in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear FranG,

Thank you for your comments. The shuttle is definitely a plus of our hotel as guests do not have to worry about finding parking downtown, trafic and paying at times.

I know you mentioned for a short stay but please know that we do offer for longer term stay Junior Suites which come equipped with microwave, fridge and kichenette area which includes a living area with an additional 42" tv. Many of our long term guests enjoy.

Thank you and we hope to see you soon!

Lisa Bublitz
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Both front-desk managers that I interacted with, Samantha and Arsenio, were absolutely excellent. They were welcoming, efficient, helpful, and friendly. When I checked in at night, Samantha offered me fresh-made chocolate chip cookies, ensured that I was staying on a higher floor-room as I had requested, and offered me a complimentary hotel shuttle service to my appointment in Hartford the next morning. I ended up taking her advice and took the shuttle, which was arranged by Arsenio the next morning. He was very helpful with this, and got the shuttle right on time to drop me off and pick me up. It was so great not to worry about the transportation to and from my appointment. I would ABSOLUTELY recommend staying in this hotel in the future. Excellent experience! Thank you for showing me that some people and companies do still value customer service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Rachel G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. And to give us an Excellent review on top of that!

I appreciate you acknowledging how the team takes customer service so seriously as we know that is what sets us apart from other hotels...caring people who work together to make each guest have an experience during their stay.

Arsenio and Samantha are both great examples of team workers working together. I cannot wait to share your words with the staff as positive feedback just makes us work harder.

The shuttle service is a great amenity that we offer because you don’t have to worry about traffic finding your destination in an unknown area and more so not having to pay to park while you are at the hotel or travelling to your meeting.


Hope to see you soon!

Lisa Bublitz
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
2.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#3 of 10 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 10 in Hartford
3.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites

Address: 185 Brainard Road, Hartford, CT 06114 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites in Hartford, CT is located just five - ten minutes from downtown and at the crossroads of New England - Routes I-91 and I-84. The hotel is conveniently located 1.5 miles from the Hartford Convention Center, and is near the CT Expo Center, XL Center, Downtown Hartford corporate offices, The Mark Twain House & Museum, XFINITY Theater, Six Flags(R) New England, Goodwin Park Golf Course, Wadsworth Atheneum, Hartford Hospital, and St. Francis Hospital are nearby as well, including Aetna(R), the University of Hartford, Trinity College and the Connecticut State Capitol building. Our patrons stay connected with business amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a business center. We also boast 943 square feet of meeting space, ideal for most meetings or events in Hartford, CT. Our hotel's location is a few miles from some of Hartford's most popular attractions. Take a tour through Hartford's many historic homes like the Harriet Beecher Stowe Center and The Mark Twain House & Museum. You can see contemporary and classic works of art at the Wadsworth Atheneum or spend the day outdoors at Bushnell Park. Let our hotel in Hartford be your home away from home. Join us each morning for a full hot breakfast buffet, enjoy a refreshing swim in our seasonal heated outdoor pool, relax in our indoor whirlpool or get an invigorating workout in our fitness center. The hotel is 100% non-smoking in all Guest rooms and Public areas. This Hartford, CT hotel's location near downtown Hartford makes us the ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. We provide complimentary shuttle service to 7 miles radius within the greater Hartford area. Book your stay at the BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites today! Must be 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Express Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.