We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, clean, comfy and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hartford Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Hartford Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hartford Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Brainard Road, Hartford, CT 06114 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Hartford
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very nice, clean, comfy and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went to Hartford to see a show and booked a room here. At check-in, I received a royal welcome: fresh baked cookies, snack tray and even dog biscuits for our dog. The room was very clean and well appointed. Our beds were very comfy. We had a great night's sleep. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here. It was a great hotel and very reasonably priced. Despite what others have posted, this hotel is VERY easy to find. The hotel staff were also very welcoming to our dog.
The only downsides to our stay is that the room doors were not well soundproofed. We heard lots of hallway conversations when what sounded like a large group returned to the hotel. Also, the breakfast buffet had been picked clean when we got there. There wasn't much food left and when I asked the hostess if there would be more, she just shrugged and gave me a disgusted look.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Frank B,

I appreciate the kind words about the hotel's cleanliness and friendliness our staff. I thank you for taking the time and acknowledging you enjoyed your stay and we made you and your pet feel welcome.

I would like to address the breakfast attendant in question. If you could email me your stay dates so I may verify the schedule. hartfordgm@wnwhospitality.com. I can work with her and offer solutions if this situation arises again; I appreciate your constructive criticism as it helps with ongoing training and awareness.

We hope you stay with us again for another Hartford event!

Lisa Bublitz
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    44
    21
    15
    6
See reviews for
33
28
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

At first sight when driving up to this hotel, it looks like a dump. Once inside, it's a typical motel style place- not exactly a dump. However, it's not like the updated Holiday Inns I have been to & was expecting.

After walking through the cloud of cigarette smoke at the entrance I went to check in. The woman who checked me in was rude & unfriendly(perhaps cannot handle too many guests at once by herself). The hallways were very warm and muggy. Once in the 1st floor room it stunk of mildew. We asked to change, and (the same rude lady answered the phone) she said she could change us. After waiting and no one coming to change us, I called again. She said she was very busy and hasn't had the time to get some one to bring us the new room keys. Once we got our new keys & new room on the 2nd floor it was better. No smell, thank goodness. Bathroom & room were clean. I must say, though we paid for a suite with a queen bed- there is no way that was a queen size! It was definitely a double size & not very comfortable. If I had a tape measure I would have proven it. 2 flat screen tvs, but not enough channels. Breakfast was full of high fat/processed junk foods just like the last H.I. Express I went to(so that was no surprise). Although they do offer a lot of choices - as long as you don't mind that kind of food. I would appreciate high quality but less choices-just saying. I also have to mention the "Gourmet style" coffee was good. Another positive mention was the breakfast room attendant. She was so sweet and wonderfully talkative! A fine asset to this establishment. So all in all, even for just one night I would NOT stay again because of the negative points I just mentioned & my really bad first impression of this place. I also did not feel it was a good value. When there are so many choices in the area for around the same rate, I would try something else next time. Disappointed in H.I. Express!

Room Tip: Smoking is still allowed in CT hotels, YUK. This hotel accepts PETS-YUK!!! USS Chowder Pot next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, Manager at Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear lodee73,

I see that you are a valued member of TripAdvisor as you have several reviews posted. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I can honestly say I have never been told that I work at a "dump". As a matter of fact the staff and I take pride in our hotel as I have been here a few years.

I am equally surprised that you did not enjoy the Chowder Pot as it is a local favorite; winning numerous awards from Connecticut Magazine and voted Best Seafood by North Haven and Hartford Advocate for 17 years!

We do have a smoking section as CT is not a smoke free state, as of yet. We accommodate smoking travelers in a designated area of the hotel. Unfortunately, we cannot control our guests from smoking outside of the hotel. In regards to pets we are pet friendly as many pets consider their pet a part of their family. We designate certain rooms for our guests travelling with pets and offer treats for the dogs.

I am concerned that you found one of our team members "rude and unfriendly". Please call me at 860-525-1000 or email me at hartfordgm@wnwhospitality.com so I can address your concerns and further train my staff as needed.

Holiday Inn Express properties have guidelines that we follow for breakfast which does include the World Famous Cinnamon Rolls---which are sweet and melt in your mouth Many guests look for that extra when eating away from home as we also serve warm homemade cookies in the afternoon.

Please contact meand we can discuss further.

Lisa Bublitz
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

I definitely enjoyed my stay. It was as clean and put together as the Hilton or Marriot for half the price. I was looking for something affordable and nice....this was it. If you are driving this is a perfect location, right off of the highway and an exit away from downtown Hartford. If you are taking the bus it is a little inconvenient. I am really big on cleanliness and presentation and this met my standards.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville va
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

this is a nice hotel but very difficult to find because of terribly poor signage. spoke to front desk about it at time of check in and was told that the owner had been told the same by many but refuses to do anything about it. staff at the hotel was very helpful, friendly and accomodating. even when our room to which we were assigned was found to not have been cleaned even by early evening.a male front desk person whose name escapes me now was very helpful by bringing a new key for different room up to us.property is very large. room was large, clean and comfortable. breakfast was typical but friendly helpful staff there.would stay there again if i could find it! really good restaurant next door..

Room Tip: hotel is spread out but our second floor room was quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Wanderer69_9;

I am sorry you had such difficulty finding us as we are right off route 91 at exit 27 on the corner. We do have a billboard on 91 going northbound with directions and we have a large lit Holiday Inn Express & Suites signs on the back of the hotel. Usually when guests call we tell them we are right next door to the Chowder Pot and they find us! Sorry for the confusion. Our owners actually pay monthly for the billboard and added the lit signage so we could be seen from the highway so I am unsure who has been given incorrect information but I will speak with the front desk staff.

We do have a hotel with larger rooms; many guest comment on the size. I am glad you enjoyed once we got you settled. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our staff and that you will return. We hear many rave reviews on the Chowder Pot as it is a local favorite.

We will see you soon! If you need directions call and we can email prior to your arrival.

Lisa Bublitz
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night while in town for a wedding, and got a great price. The hotel is a little outdated but very clean, which is always my biggest concern. The breakfast was fully stocked and provided many options, including fresh fruit. Our neighbors were loud through the thin walls, but quieted down once we asked them to do so. Considering the great breakfast, convenient location, and cleanliness, this hotel was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear amester57,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am glad you were happy with the value of our hotel. I hope you had a great time at the wedding--usually so many cherished memories are created.

I appreciate you acknowledging our breakfast which is served daily from 6am to 10am with the mouth watering cinnamon roll!....our great location right off rte 91 and obviously the most important to most travelers the cleanliness of our hotel. The staff and I take pride in our property and the service we provide.

Hopefully you will visit us again!

Lisa Bublitz
GM

Lisa Bublitz
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just wanted to say thank you to Phyllis who went above and beyond the call of duty by helping me find the meetings I was looking for. She also drove me to the University of Hartford each morning with a smile and offered genuine conversation! Your extended effort really made a difference in my stay! Thank you for all your help!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear 22ReginaO,

The staff at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites do make a difference!!!!! Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review. We are fortunate to have Phyllis on our team as she is so high energy and motivates her co-workers throughout the day.

We have daily meetings with the staff and I look forward to shring this review and acknowledging Phyllis! Hopefully you will be staying with us again soon!

Thank you
Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddington, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here 6/29/12. Room was clean. AC was a little loud, but it was HOT, so it was really cranking the whole time we were in room. Breakfast buffet was so so. Food area was messy when we got there late in the morning. Overall, I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Kimcush59,

Thank you for your response. I am glad you would stay with us again and we look forward to having you. The breakfast buffet we serve is the Holiday Inn Express standard with the world famous cinnamon bun! I am going to share your review with my staff regarding the tidiness of the food area.

Hope to see you soon!
Lisa Bublitz
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hartford Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Hotel & Suites

Address: 185 Brainard Road, Hartford, CT 06114 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hartford Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartford Hotel & Suites is located just minutes from downtown Hartford and the crossroads of New England, I-91 and I-84.Our recently renovated hotel offers standard amenities that other hotels call extra: complimentary breakfast with hot items, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, complimentary shuttle service to the greater Hartford area, complimentary parking, complimentary business center, complimentary exercise facility, complimentary local and toll-free calls, plus much more. Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check-in.With 129 guest rooms, including 44 suites, the Hartford Hotel & Suites has the room that you are looking for. All of our guest rooms include coffee makers, iron & ironing boards, pay-per-view movies and Nintendo games, video folio review and check-out, two telephones with data ports, hair dryer and work desk. Our suites also have small sitting areas with sofa bed, mini refrigerator, microwave and wet bar.The Hartford Hotel & Suites Hartford is located next door to the award winning Chowder Pot Restaurant which offers moderately priced seafood dishes plus much more. The next time you are planning to stay in the Hartford area, choose the Hartford Hotel & Suites Hartford. 'Just check in and leave the rest to us!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hartford Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartford Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.