We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unable to Go Up” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelers Tower

Travelers Tower
1 Tower Square, Hartford, CT 06183
860-277-4208
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 55 things to do in Hartford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The observation deck of this 1919 neo-classical pink granite building offers a panoramic view of the city, the Connecticut River and the surrounding countryside.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unable to Go Up”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was stopped at the door and told I had to make an appointment to go up, despite the website saying it was open weekdays to the public during certain hours. I did not have time to spend waiting around to make an appointment so I just left. Would be nice if they let people know this ahead of time in case they have other attractions they are planning to see or places they are planning to go.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank serenadethesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worked at Travelers and toured this town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Amazing 360 views, really windy up there, bring a hat in colder months. Can view the falcon nesting site from there. must be able to climb a lot of stairs.

Helpful?
Thank tawisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Went there on a field trip with my high school sophmore and his AP History class. This was on one of our stops. One of the mom's husband was an executive there and he met us there and they brought us to the top of the tower. The views were spectacular of Hartford.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CtEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely views from the top of this Hartford icon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Beautiful views from the top. You must be able to climb stairs, because the elevator can only go up to a certain floor, then you get off and have to climb the steps. Free tour up to the top. If it is windy, be sure to bring a jacket (it is COLD up there!)

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chris_from_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“For a boring sunny day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Nice view, but not much to the experience. Take an elevator up into the tower to look out.

Helpful?
Thank ceckert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Travelers Tower also viewed

 

Been to Travelers Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing