We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sam Clemens and family home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark Twain House & Museum

The Mark Twain House & Museum
351 Farmington Ave, Hartford, CT 06105
+1 860-247-0998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Mark Twain House & Museum, a National Historic Landmark in Hartford, Connecticut, was the home of America's greatest author, Samuel Clemens (a.k.a. Mark Twain) and his family from 1874 to 1891. It is also where Twain lived when he wrote his most important works, including Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, The Prince and The Pauper and A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court. A stunning example of Picturesque Gothic architecture, the 25-room home features a dramatic grand hall, a lush glass conservatory, a grand library and the handsome billiard room where Twain wrote his famous books. The Webster Bank Museum Center at The Mark Twain House & Museum offers visitors an opportunity to learn more about Mark Twain, his family, the historic house, and the author's legacy. This state-of-the-art facility houses our ticket desk; the Aetna Gallery with a permanent exhibition on Twain's life and work; a rotating exhibition hall, The Hartford Financial Services Theatre, showing a Ken Burns mini-documentary on Twain; classroom space; the lecture hall-style Lincoln Financial Auditorium; The Mark Twain Store; entertaining spaces like the soaring Hal Holbrook and the sunny second floor cafe/patio area.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Stephentown, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Sam Clemens and family home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Took a late day tour. Viewed residence. Heavy Victorian but the info on Twain's life was well done by our guide. Ken Burns film, small gallery and gift shop on site.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chez2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amherst, MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“House Tour yes, Servants Tour no”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Upon entering the cavernous and sterile Visitor Center from the ample parking lot, we purchased the House and Servants Tour package for $20.00 per person. Due to the early hour, we were the only ones on the house tour led by Martha. The house is accessed by a circuitous route taken throughout the entire Visitor Center and along an outdoor walkway leading up to the front porch of the grand estate. The house is a beautiful representative of the Victorian period. Once inside the foyer, the dark walnut woodworkand geometric patterns on the walls were beautifully striking. Martha was very knowledgeable and informative with her commentary about the Twain family and their prominance in Hartford as she guided us through the three floors of the residence. Each room had its own unique personality and spoke of the opulance during that era. Although some of the furnishings are not original pieces, this did not detract from the experience. The tour is one hour in length with tours occurring similtaneously on different floors and rooms. At the end of the house tour, we were led all the way back through the Visitor Center where we were met by a historian to take us on the Servants Tour. We were led once again via the same path to the side entrance of the house that led us into the kitchen. The entire 25 minute Servants Tour consists of the kitchen and its very small adjoining chambers. It is during the historian's 25 minute diatribe that we learned that the Servants Tour only consisted of these areas. The information on this tour could have been included in the House Tour without having to pay the additional fee. Overall, I was very disappointed in the so-called Servants Tour but would definitely recommend the House Tour to anyone interested in Victorian architecture and/or Mark Twain.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sioux64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great victorian house and musuem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

this is a wonderful place to visit -the people who run the tours are fabulous
you can just picture Mark Twain and his family living in here

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irish451006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mark Twain House review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We usually bring out of state guests to the Mark Twain House, or at least highly recommend it for anyone with most of a day to take a tour. Most people are quite surprised and pleased to experience this wonderful museum.

Helpful?
1 Thank trixie5736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great restored home! Worth a trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I visited the house and had a great time. The tour guide was very informative and knew a great deal about Mark Twain. The house itself is incredible and amazingly restored down to very small details. This is really a national and so glad to see it was restored and open to the public. Also, if you are in the military ask for a discount, it is not posted.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mark Twain House & Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Mark Twain House & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing