We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stowe Center and home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harriet Beecher Stowe Center

Harriet Beecher Stowe Center
77 Forest St., Hartford, CT 06105
860-522-9258
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 63 Attractions in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Harriet Beecher Stowe was the best-selling author of the anti-slavery novel “Uncle Tom’s Cabin.” A 21st-century museum and program center, the Stowe Center offers interactive and engaging tours of Stowe’s home and garden and programs designed to inspire action on social justice issues. Themed tours change monthly; specialized tour experiences and discussion-based contemporary issue programs regularly offered. In 2012-13, marking the 150th anniversary of the Emancipation Proclamation, the continued sesquicentennial of the Civil War and the 200th anniversary of the birth of abolitionist Henry Ward Beecher, Stowe's favorite brother.
Tioga, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stowe Center and home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The historic tour of her home and museum visit were really nice. We had a great private house tour from a lady who was super knowledgeable about the family and home so it was special to find answers to many really detailed questions of her life and family. We are ancestors of the family so lots of personal information was fun to learn. Also had no idea she was good buddies with Mark Twain in those years. Would love to go back again!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewhite, Public Relations Manager at Harriet Beecher Stowe Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for coming for a tour of Harriet Beecher Stowe's charming home in Hartford. There is so much to learn about this accomplished woman -- you can come for multiple tours and learn something new each time. We hope you will!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    41
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Long Branch, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely house tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After going to the museum house tour next door, I decided to visit the Harriet Beecher Stowe Center. I did not know very much about Ms. Stowe but I definitely learned a lot more while on this tour. It was interesting to see all the old items and learn more about the family. If you are in the area, I would suggest checking it out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewhite, Public Relations Manager at Harriet Beecher Stowe Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We're so glad you decided to visit the Stowe Center while visiting the Mark Twain House & Museum. Not everyone realizes the two authors were neighbors and that you can easily tour both homes in an afternoon. Please come back and see us again. In the meantime, visit our website and like us on Facebook to keep up with all the Stowe Center events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“How cool that Harriet and Samuel Clemens were neighbors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed the tour of Harriet's home and learned a great deal from the very knowledgeable guide. What an incredible lady who used her influence to end slavery.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewhite, Public Relations Manager at Harriet Beecher Stowe Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Stowe Center and for your kind words. It sounds like you were inspired by the life of Harriet Beecher Stowe, author, artist, gardener and activist. People from all over the world come to visit her home in Hartford to learn about the woman whose words changed the world with "Uncle Tom's Cabin." We're glad you were one of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cold winter day, warm historic Stowe house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed this historical home of Harriet Beecher Stowe. We were lucky enough, even though it was vacation week, to have a private tour. The tour guide was very informative about the life and history of Harriet Beecher Stowe. She was a very talented woman who was ahead of her time. And because of the insite of her grand-neice, the house is in excellent condition with a lot of the original items.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewhite, Public Relations Manager at Harriet Beecher Stowe Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your visit! We're open year round to welcome visitors who come to learn about the life of the woman whose words changed the world. We hope you left feeling inspired! Please visit again -- you'll learn something new every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have visited the Stowe house and center numerous times. I visited this summer again and I am amazed at how many new things I learn each time I visit. The guide was pleasant and very knowledgeable. You really get a sense of what life was like during the time period through the visit - the history, the gardens, the community of Hartford. I highly recommend that anyone who is interested in taking a step back into the past to learn about this amazing woman and her family visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewhite, Public Relations Manager at Harriet Beecher Stowe Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We hope you'll keep coming back for tours and programs. Please visit our website to get all the latest news on upcoming events and let us know if you'd like to recieve our E-Newsletter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harriet Beecher Stowe Center also viewed

 

Been to Harriet Beecher Stowe Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harriet Beecher Stowe Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.