We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Connecticut State Capitol

Connecticut State Capitol
210 Capitol Ave., Hartford, CT
860-240-0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 55 things to do in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tour of the gold-leaf-domed capitol includes the Hall of Flags and, when they're in session, a chance to see the state senate and house of representatives in action.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I decided to go over to the Capitol building to take a tour, which was awesome. I really learned a lot about Connecticut and its history. If you're looking to learn a bit more about the state, I would definitely recommend this. It was a little difficult to find the tour area, but the employees running around were super considerate to bring me to where I needed to be. I ended up being on the tour all by myself!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank serenadethesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Building, History Galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hey What can you say it is the Capitol of Hartord, very interesting to see how the state government works and when they are in session, lots of interesting activities to see

Helpful?
Thank nancy1957_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Beautiful Capitol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have been to over half of the State Capitols and Hartford is certainly one of the most beautiful, inside and out. The large park-like grounds, the extremely intricate facade stonework and reliefs, the restored interiors, the legislative chambers, the soaring atriums and the beautiful dome make this a very special building well worth visiting. Free tours are given, but you are free to wander on your own.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Aviron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the best in the USA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

It speaks for itself. One visit and you will be immersed in the glorious marble and granite architecture.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I might be a bit biased since I'm from CT and have lived near here for the longest time but I love the state capitol building! Truly a great site

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank skynet3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connecticut State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Connecticut State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing