We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Connecticut State Capitol

Connecticut State Capitol
210 Capitol Ave., Hartford, CT
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 64 things to do in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tour of the gold-leaf-domed capitol includes the Hall of Flags and, when they're in session, a chance to see the state senate and house of representatives in action.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I decided to go over to the Capitol building to take a tour, which was awesome. I really learned a lot about Connecticut and its history. If you're looking to learn a bit more about the state, I would definitely recommend this. It was a little difficult to find the tour area, but the employees running around were super considerate to bring me to where I needed to be. I ended up being on the tour all by myself!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Building, History Galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hey What can you say it is the Capitol of Hartord, very interesting to see how the state government works and when they are in session, lots of interesting activities to see

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Beautiful Capitol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have been to over half of the State Capitols and Hartford is certainly one of the most beautiful, inside and out. The large park-like grounds, the extremely intricate facade stonework and reliefs, the restored interiors, the legislative chambers, the soaring atriums and the beautiful dome make this a very special building well worth visiting. Free tours are given, but you are free to wander on your own.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwick, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of the best in the USA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

It speaks for itself. One visit and you will be immersed in the glorious marble and granite architecture.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I might be a bit biased since I'm from CT and have lived near here for the longest time but I love the state capitol building! Truly a great site

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connecticut State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Connecticut State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Connecticut State Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.