We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place fab food and very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbot Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Talbot Inn to your Saves list
The Talbot Inn
High Street, Ripley, Woking GU23 6BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ripley B&B and Inns
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place fab food and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Have just spent 2 nights at the Talbot Inn where my friends were having their wedding reception.
Loved it for all the reasons above. The food was amazing the beds really comfy and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Anyone who is worried by slightly " tired" decor etc. ( it is one of the oldest hotels around) should probably stay in a " nice, soulless, antiseptic " travel lodge or similar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    113
    91
    56
    30
See reviews for
66
193
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Can't praise the food enough. Staff are all extremely helpful and attentive. Room has everything you need. I'd i have any criticism it's that there's no room service so I had to eat alone in the bar and that my bedroom door rattled when someone came in the block. I stayed in the ripley rooms

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The room I had was at the back. It was very clean comfortable and modern. This hotel represented great value for money, very close to the M25 (less than 5 mins from J10). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar is very cosy (didn't eat so no idea about food) Breakfast was a good selection for continental. I had a very good nights sleep, rooms at back very quiet. Shower was excellent. So all round it served the purpose.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This place looks fab on the web- booked the best room and it was noisy, dirty and wallpaper peeling off the walls. Changed to a quieter standard room but had to go past a mouldy carpet reception to get to it. Room was v v basic for £99. I would have got much more from a travelodge. Free wifi was the best thing going for it. Breakfast could not have been more basic. Staff were pleasant enough but the fact that we weren't asked if we had enjoyed our stay spoke volumes to me- they know there is an issue so don't ask. Crazily if management put some effort in I'm sure all the issues could be fixed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had an experience package as a gift to include bed and breakfast and dinner in the "Marco Pierre White" restaurant. The hotel has some character and olde worlde charm. Check in was casual which is OK and our room was clean. Unfortunately, a couple of lights (one wall light and one bedside lamp) were not working and the room was a little dark. Despite being n a room above the bar, the bed was comfortable and we slept well. The bar was frequented by the locals which is probably a good sign and makes the place popular. Dinner was very nice. Restaurant was pleasant and food was very well presented. The biggest issue that we found later was that we had no hot water in the room since the boiler had failed. I guess the hotel cannot be blamed for that but it was rather inconvenient. As a result, the receptionist credited the room upgrade charge.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying the upgrade fee for a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My self I worked in big brand hotel, so when I booked this hotel on valentine day I was expecting what I was going to get it, it's more of experience rather then luxury, Amy was very friendly and helpful on reception really I had great time there.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Booked a superior room with a four poster bed - all we got was a standard bed with a dodgy steel post at each corner, all of which were loose. No air con, no other facilities. A room fridge was a B&Q tin cooler box that didn't work anyway. The site gives the impression of a traditional country hotel but all you get is a room in a modern block at the back of the car park. Hotel reception was almost non-existent, just a flat monotone delivery of what they couldn't do. Cobwebs in the room, mould in the shower grout. We went down to the restaurant to be told it was closed on a Sunday night, even though the menu clearly stated it was open. Nothing at all was available! The breakfast was a disaster. Badly and barely cooked food, no bread rolls, no orange juice. The front door of the Annex had an incredibly long security code to access the door lock - probably why everybody left the door open so there was no room security at all! Free wi-fi? Took a long time to figure out how to connect using an offshoot of the hotel's own network including having to call their IT helper to explain how to break into the bar's network - I'm in IT so heaven knows how a non-IT savvy person would cope. And once it had connected it was a crawl. Leave the internet for 5 minutes and it disconnected and you had to go though the whole reconnection routine again...... Never ever again! Not under this management. Only good thing to come out of it was that a member of the hotel staff sent us to the Onslow Arms in Clandon for a meal - one of the best restaurants I have even been to. Brilliant and the only thing in the area worth recommending.

Room Tip: Didn't see the rooms in the original building so I can't comment on those. Never ever accept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Inn

Address: High Street, Ripley, Woking GU23 6BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Woking > Ripley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ripley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely transformed inside, yet retaining its original, historical features, this traditional coaching inn has been caringly restored to its former glory, with a modern twist. You’ll find a comfortable and friendly bar with open log fires, real ales & a mouth-watering array of food, including favourite pub classics and an innovative British-la-carte menu using locally sourced produce. We also have a fabulous new restaurant, featuring a stunning copper ceiling and glass conservatory overlooking the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Talbot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Talbot Hotel Woking

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbot Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.