We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westbourne House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westbourne House
Save
You added Westbourne House to your Saves list
West Bay Road | Millport, Millport KA28 0HA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Millport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A very good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We only had one night at the Westbourne which was a real pity. My friend and I had a room each with a shared private bathroom. Both were spotless and whatever I needed in my room was there to be found. The view from my single room was probably the best view I have ever seen out of a window with the sun setting beside Arran and Wee Cumbrae and Bute also lit beautifully by the sun.

There were fresh flowers in my room along with tea making facilities and tourist information.

Recommendations were given when we booked about travel, restaurants all of which made our stay go like clockwork. I think the rooms were all full that night but we had a quiet undisturbed night with a pleasant breakfast to follow, having chosen what we would like to eat the night before.

I would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Sea view is preferable because it is so gorgeous to look out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for writing such a positive review on Trip advisor. It is good to know that we have succeeded in making your stay so enjoyable.

Thank you for your positive comments.

Kind Regards

Stuart and Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
47
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Westbourne House is a lovely B&B in a quiet corner of Millport. The building and grounds are well maintained and are spotlessly clean throughout. We stayed in the 'Bute Room', a family room with plenty of space for me, my wife and our 7 year old daughter. The room has a great view of the sea, looking out towards Bute, Arran and Little Cumbrae. The owners, Stuart and Jane, made us feel very welcome from when we made our booking until we checked out at the end of our stay.

We are looking forward to our next stay at Westbourne House already!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Westbourne House.

We are pleased to know that you and your family had a relaxing, enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future!

Kind Regards
Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A busy B & B which has the owners also looking after a caravan site.
We were greeted by Stuart who showed us to our room and advised us where to dine out that evening. Great choice of restaurant.
The room was small but comfortable with good bathroom.
Breakfasts were just what we asked for and delivered by friendly Jane, wife of Stuart.

Room Tip: Book early to get one of the sea view rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time in writing such a positive review on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to learn that you both enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we spoke to Jane to book our holiday back in March we knew that this was gong to be something special.

I need to go straight to the marvellous views the Arran suite enjoys you will not look at the TV much I can assure you as you'll not want to miss the views of 5 star cruiser or hefty looking nuclear sub passing by the window going down the Clyde

Breakfast is served between 8.30 and 9am and again you just can't make a breakfast you get like this at home it's delicious and sets you up for the day ahead

The hosts Stuart and Jane make you feel really welcome which all adds up to making your stay so much of an enjoyment.

So bottom line is I would highly recommend this guesthouse 10 out of 10

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was our pleasure, breaks away are special times to escape every day life and Millport is the perfect escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed three nights last weekend and couldn't have been better cared for. The owners were extremely helpful, very attentive and couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasant one. The Arran and Bute rooms which were spotlessly clean, have beautiful views and have to be recommended. Breakfast is individually cooked when you come down each morning and was excellent, the choice for cooked breakfast was very good. Certainly a B & B worth visiting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor and choosing Westbourne House for your recent stay.

We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing enjoyable stay.
Your compliments are very much appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed three nights and owners could not do enough to ensure a wonderful break. Arran and Bute rooms have a wonderful view and rooms are kept spotless.

Cooked breakfast delicious although perhaps some more fruit/cereal/porridge could be available.

Worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out your valuable time and posting such a positive feedback on trip advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay with us.


We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards

Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Westbourne House is a little gem. It is extremely clean, has lovely rooms in a fabulous building, a fantastic location with breathless views, honest prices, excellent breakfast and it is run by an efficient and friendly couple. My husband and I visited in May and we cannot wait to go back there with our children. Thank you Stuart and Jane for an excellent stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for posting your positive feedback on tripadvisor and choosing Westbourne House for your recent stay.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience during your stay.

Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again to Westbourne House.

Kind Regards

Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne House

Address: West Bay Road | Millport, Millport KA28 0HA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > The Cumbraes > Great Cumbrae > Millport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Millport
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westbourne House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.