We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and Recharged” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westbourne House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westbourne House
Save
You added Westbourne House to your Saves list
West Bay Road | Millport, Millport KA28 0HA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Millport B&B and Inns
Johnstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed and Recharged”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a couple of days stay here, the location and hotel - excellent, welcome -excellent, recommendations of where to eat and drink - excellent, views from room-.......excellent, Many thanks to Stuart and Jane

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CHESTERFIELD
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went to Cumbrae for a short break, and would happily go back again tomorrow. An Absoulutly fantastic island.
The Westbourne is slightly out of Millport centre, but its a pleasant walk along the sea front to get to the town. The hotel itself is superb. The owner couldnt have done anything else to make us feel more welcome, and he runs a clean, comfortable establishment. Its worth the visit for the views alone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I are just home after staying 3 nights at the Westbourne and again we have returned happy, relaxed and stress free. We were greeted by Stuart who showed us to our favourite room 'Arran' and we weren't at all surprised to see it was immaculate as usual. Yes I even did my hotel inspector and checked the top of the wardrobe for dust, there was none!!!! Breakfast was it's normal high standard and Jane was there to help out and was her usual cheery self. We had full breakfast on saturday but decided to try the scrambled egg with smoked salmon for a wee change on the sunday. Scrumptious is the word I would use to describe it. Perfectly cooked and extremely tasty. On leaving today Stuart kindly called a taxi for us to take us to catch the bus to the ferry. Nothing is too much for Stuart and Jane and I can honestly say I've never met a couple who smile as much as they do. They are so welcoming and friendly and genuinely care about their guests. We will be booking up again for next year and would definately recommend staying at the Westbourne.

Room Tip: The room we always stay in is called Arran and the view on a good day is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Westbourne for 2 nights at the beginning of September. Wee arrived at the house and was promptly greeted by Stuart, Jane had been called to Wales so unfortunately didn't meet her this time. During our stay Stuart was so friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was gorgeous and made to order. The room itself was just stunning, the views over to Arran were breathtaking. The bed was so comfortable and the room and Ensuite were spotless. Had a fantastic refreshing break and we are already planning our next trip to Cumbrae and will most definately be staying at Westbourne. Thanks again Stuart.

Room Tip: The Arran suite has a breathtaking view of the Isles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

If this was A Four in A Bed B&B.......I would have overpaid.The views are stunning and our weather was perfection.My wee girl Olivia thought she was in a foreign country.....well the trip from Troon to Largs was an hour in the car (ages to a 7 year old) then she was on a boat (another ages....10 mins)....then palm trees and tropical weather.....when I sent her into the shop (for a wee sweetie for after tea)....she said "Mum do they speak English"....it made us all laugh.The hosts Stu and Jane made her feel very welcome and enjoy her first stay in Millport.May it be the first of many.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband spent nearly every summer of his childhood life in Millport,before moving to the United States. After nearly 30 years, he was able to return with us, so excited to show his girls all that was special about Millport. We spent a few days trying to find somewhere to stay that wouldn't require two rooms, or bringing our own linens. Finally, Westbourne House popped up in our searches and we were happy to find that we could book a room for four, with breakfast included.
Upon arrival, we were greeted by Stuart and Jane, a warm and charming couple. Stuart showed us to the Butte room and we were immediately excited with our surrondings. The room was so lovely, with the cornice work, furniture, and decor that holds to the era of the house. The room was spacious, immaculately kept, and inviting. It was so restful and accomdating, I enjoyed a few hours looking out the window with a cup of tea and my favorite book. Actually, I think we all took time to enjoy the view in front of the bay windows. Everyone throughly enjoyed breakfast and our youngest was happy to have a perfectly soft boilded egg and toast for breakfast. Our family was able to walk into town and follow the trail down to the craigy beaches directly in front of Westbourne House. It was all so wonderful that we cancelled one of our days in Edinburgh and returned to stay again, before having to fly back home. We definately plan to return on our next vacation and if left up to our girls, we would return permanetely.

Room Tip: We staying in the Butte Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our second visit to the Westbourne with our two young grandchildren. Once again, we had the Family Room (Bute), which has the most amazing view! The room is grand - befitting the period of the house- but still "family friendly". Everything is clean and comfortable and the hosts, Stu and Jane, are corteous, helpful and yet discreet (it feels as if you have the house to yourselves).
Breakfast is cooked to your prefernce and is delicious and filling. There is ample car-parking and the house is within easy walking distance of the little town of Millport, with a splendid play-park on route for the children.
Millport itself is a jewel in the crown of Scotland. Time has stood still, with the bicycle having precedence over the motor car. There are plenty of little shops with quality local crafts plus the usual buckets, spades and fishing nets (a must for the rock-pools!) and planty of places to eat. We liked Minstrels for dinner and The Ritz cafe for ice-cream and coffees.

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms have their own benefits. The family room is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne House

Address: West Bay Road | Millport, Millport KA28 0HA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > The Cumbraes > Great Cumbrae > Millport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Millport
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westbourne House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.