We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family loves Sergio's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sergio's Restaurant & Pizzeria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sergio's Restaurant & Pizzeria
3860 Whitney Ave, Hamden, CT 06518
(203) 248-2564
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 148 restaurants in Hamden
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our family loves Sergio's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We live close by and I'm so glad we do. We've had everything on their menu and enjoyed it all.
Our grandson will only eat Sergio's pizza. Very friendly family owned business.
We also have used their catering service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

33% Recommend
    2
    1
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
trenton, nj
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Such good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We always enjoy the food here; great pizzas, calzones; sandwiches. Everything we've ordered, we've been happy with and look forward to eating here when we visit Hamden.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Outside looks inviting, but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Service and Food is only ok. Probably not going back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Decent Pizza - friendly atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

A family run business with far better than average service.

The pizza, viewed on the very harsh scale of New Haven natives, does not make the grade. For those not in the know: New Haveners view one of these three restaurants: Peppes, Sallies, or Modern (all located in New Haven) as having the best pizza in the world and I mean that quite literally. New Haven borders Hamden for those not familiar with the area.
Putting aside New Haven pizza - Sergio's pizza would probably please many. It certainly is better than any of the chain restaurants and also better than Toninos Pizza which is close by, far far better than Primo Pizza --- but not as good as Eli's Pizza which is also close. Each of the restaurants I've mentioned are all on the same road and only a few miles apart.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Pizza is very good, entrees OK, view and atmosphere Pretty good as well. My main problem is they routinely forget my to go orders

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sergio's Restaurant & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Sergio's Restaurant & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sergio's Restaurant & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.