We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room / Hotel Unclean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Hamden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Hamden to your Saves list
Days Inn Hamden
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 Whitney Avenue, I-91 & Route 40/10 Exit 10, Hamden, CT 06518   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamden
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    23
    22
    25
See reviews for
30
14
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Higganum, CT
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I booked this last second... About 3 hours before I arrived... I have never seen such small beds? They had to have been doubles.... Heater did not work well at all... Was freezing in the room when we arrived.... Mold all over the inside of the refrigerator, barely any towels... I requested a late check out on Sunday night and was denied... I would not stay here again....

Room Tip: I have no tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Perfectly adequate for my needs. Good location near Quinnipiac University and Sleeping Giant Park. The room had a microwave, refrigerator, iron and ironing board, desk, dresser, TV, queen-size bed. The continental breakfast goes well beyond what I'm used to seeing elsewhere. I had an extended stay there and would use them again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel blew me away on every level! I booked 2 rooms for 2 nights for a business trip and I didn't realize that I accidentally reserved our rooms on the first floor until I arrived at the hotel. I asked if it would be possible to move our rooms to the second floor since I heard they were newer and nicer. The staff was so friendly and accommodating and allowed us to do so. The manager, Judy, was incredible. She was just an absolute delight and made us feel so welcome and made sure we were completely comfortable. As for the rooms themselves, they were AMAZING! Seriously, I was so impressed by them. They were super clean, beautifully furnished, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Oh, and I should mention, there is a beautiful view of the Sleeping Giant mountain right across the street too! Overall, it was just a great experience and I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in the area!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are amazing. Would highly recommend them. The ones in the back are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Ive stayed at this hotel 3 times so far this year, as I frequently work sporting events up at Quinnipiac University. First off, its right down the hill from the arena, so proximity is a plus.
The Rooms are comfortable, clean, and there is free hassle free WiFi! I prefer the rooms upstairs, to the ones on street level, simply because I dont feel the need to have to keep the drapes closed all the time.

Staff has been courteous, but I consider myself a very low maintenance guest, so I generally dont have any requests..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

nice small property, clean and comfortable, staff very nice will visit Connecticut again and I will be staying here for the value and comfort and location great for where I have to go Price is terrific

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for close to a month while in Hamden on business. Unfortunately there is not a lot nice to say about it. First off, the rooms are small and very cramped. The room I was in had roaches! Most of the staff was not very friendly and frequently acted like you were bothering them when you went to them for assistance. I would not recommend this particular hotel to anyone. I would recommend that if at all possible, avoid it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Hamden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hamden

Address: 3400 Whitney Avenue, I-91 & Route 40/10 Exit 10, Hamden, CT 06518
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hamden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hamden 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Quinnipiac University, Yale University and North Haven. You can easily reach many Connecticut attractions as well as a number of colleges and universities when you stay at Days Inn Hamden hotel off Interstate 91 near Quinnipiac University. Our many free amenities include free Daybreak continental breakfast, free USA Today newspaper, free Wi-Fi Internet access, fax and copy services and free parking. Make use of your in-room refrigerator and microwave or stay in one of our new oversized, executive rooms, complete with flat screen TV. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our Hamden CT hotel.You can easily reach many Connecticut attractions as well as a number of colleges and universities when you stay at Days Inn Hamden hotel off Interstate 91 near Quinnipiac University. Our many free amenities include free Daybreak continental breakfast, free USA Today newspaper, free Wi-Fi Internet access, fax and copy services and free parking. Make use of your in-room refrigerator and microwave or stay in one of our new oversized, executive rooms, complete with flat screen TV. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our Hamden CT hotel. LOCAl ATTRACTIONS:Head to downtown New Haven or North Haven for great restaurants and a bustling nightlife, just a short drive from our Hamden, CT, hotel. Grab your sunscreen and towel for fun in the sun on nearby West Haven beaches, or explore the recreated 19th century seaside village and other fascinating exhibits at Mystic Seaport. If you are visiting in the fall, enjoy a spectacular fall foliage tour before indulging in some retail therapy at Tanger Outlet Center or Clinton Crossing Premium Outlets.We are in a prime location for prospective students and visiting parents, with Yale University, Quinnipiac University, Albertus Magnus College and Southern Connecticut State University all nearby, and the University of New Haven just 15 miles from our Hamden, CT, hotel.DINING OPTIONSEnjoy fine Italian dining paired with excellent wine at Ristorante Luce, or play pool, sing karaoke, catch TV sports action or listen to a live band as you enjoy delicious food at Whitney Bar & Grill, just a half mile from our hotel in Hamden, CT. Enjoy authentic Indian fare at Cumin India, or head to Louis's Lunch, touted as the Birthplace of the Hamburger. Try Eli's on Whitney for sophisticated American fare, Kumo Japanese Restaurant for Asian flavors, or if you are in the mood for tasty pizza, Pepe's Pizza is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Hamden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hamden Hotel Hamden
Hamden Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Hamden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.