We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll Enjoy Your Visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playwright Irish Pub Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Playwright Irish Pub Restaurant
1232 Whitney Ave, Hamden, CT 06517-2802
(203) 287-2401
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 147 Restaurants in Hamden
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hamden, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You'll Enjoy Your Visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I've been to the Playwright about three or four times now; once on a date, once during St.Patrick's Day, and a couple of times just because. Each time I've been the food was very good, the service has always been excellent, and the atmosphere has been fun.
The burgers are really good, as are the fish and chips, and the curry...yes curry! The bartender there makes the best Dark and Stormy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Haven
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Service, Excellent Meatloaf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a late lunch on a Saturday. We were the only customers in the dining room, so it was quiet. There were customers on the patio and in the bar area. We had an order of the onion rings, which were listed on the menu as beer-battered, but the coating, which was crisp and not greasy, was more of a panko-crumb batter. I had the corned beef reuben, which was so large I brought half home. The corned beef was thickly sliced, so it was somewhat of a struggle to bite through it. It had a great flavor without being overly salty. The sandwich was served with standard steak fries.

However, my husband's meatloaf was absolutely outstanding. The thick slices had a great texture, not dense, and fantastic flavor, with minced peppers, carrots and onions, wrapped in bacon. Beef gravy was drizzled over the meatloaf and whipped mashed potatoes. It was served with fresh, steamed mixed vegetables. I'm not much of a meatloaf fan, but I will order this the next time we come.

Our server's recommendation for a light beer for me was spot on and my husband enjoyed the perfectly drawn Guiness. Service was attentive and well timed. We'll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Feels like being in Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love the Playwright. Great comfort food. I have eaten there for over a decade as my office is directly across the street. The tuna melt is always great( ask for a side of curry sauce), great burgers, wings too. The Irish dishes are great. The service is always outstanding and you are always greeted by a smiling face.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Playwright offers a variety of food including several irsh dishes. You can get a very good burger and fries here or other "comfort" food, but if you have a hankering for sheperd's pie or bangers and mash this is the place in Hamden to get it. The smoked salmon is very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love The Playwright”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I am an admitted regular at this establishment. They have a 98% "got it just right rate" by me. Only rarely do they miss. The waitresses are friendly, courteous and thoughtful. The barmen the same. The food especially their Guiness Stew, Sherherds Pie, Chicken Pot Pie, Burgers, Pork Loin special, Pork Chops and soups are delicious and plentiful. And yes it is just like an Irish Pub in Ireland.... I've been to Ireland and can attest to that... So go and have a perfectly poured pint...
Rich..

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playwright Irish Pub Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Playwright Irish Pub Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playwright Irish Pub Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.