We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ixtapa Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ixtapa Grill
2547 Whitney Ave, Hamden, CT 06518
203-230-2586
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 148 Restaurants in Hamden
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Improving almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I have been there a few times they finally fixed up the restaurant a bit new carpet and paint. The food was good a bit greasier then usual but enjoyed it none the less. Will go back again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hamden, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Abel (the owner) and his staff nake sure EVERYTHING is what you expected. Food is great and the quantity super! Service is GREAT....all this for a reasonable price!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good prices for large portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very tasty Mexican food & drinks, but the uncaring staff makes the service unacceptable. Small inside, but colorful decor.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wrong order for takeout”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Ordered take out from here Friday and while they boasted that they included chips...the rest of our order was all wrong. Paid $15 for two tacos instead of the combo we paid for. Rice and beans should have been included as was stated on the menu and did not ask for two tacos as part of the order. Will not be returning..

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Second Visit a Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is our second visit. We were very pleased with food and price the first time and looked forward to returning. This time we could not finish our meals (two different entrees) and didn't even want to take the leftovers home. Something has changed in the last few months. Even the margaritas were not the same. Maybe it was a bad night, but we won't be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ixtapa Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ixtapa Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixtapa Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.