We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leuchars
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White House
Save
You added The White House to your Saves list
Leuchars Lodge, Leuchars, St. Andrews KY16 0EY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Leuchars B&B and Inns
Hillsborough
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Lots of great points, flexible check in, lovely decor, super comfortable rooms, terrific cooked breakfasts and a lovely hostess in Anne. We liked it so much we booked in again for an autumn weekend. The right location for golfers and others.

Room Tip: This is in St Michaels not Leuchars, a nicer location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have stayed twice now and this is already our favourite B and B in Scotland. Lovely comfortable peaceful and quiet. Wonderful breakfast. Fresh milk not the horrible uht stuff. Anne is such a thoughtful and kind hostess, and knows the area well which is very helpful. Great views from the dining room and bedroom.

Room Tip: Both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We are regular visitors in September to our favourite B&B in the world. WE get spoiled from the minute we arrive to the minute we leave Anne and her family, who all help, is the best hostess. Hostess? Not descriptive enough. We think of her more as a friend We have been visiting here every September since 2001 (12 years) I don't know what we will do when she retires.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange Over Sands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

First class accommodation. As soon as we drove up the driveway and saw this lovely place we knew it as going to be great. Lovely room, ensuite great too. Everything about this accommodation says quality. Very friendly welcome from Anne. Great views from our room. Breakfast was lovely. We have no problem with recommending this Bed and Breakfast.Will certainly go back again. Great location, just over 10 minutes from St Andrews.

Room Tip: Both rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I could not find any accommodation in St Andrews during graduation week, but thankfully we lucked into the White House just outside of town near Leuchars. The property was so nice and the horses made for a nice touch. The host, Anne, was extremely hospitable and made us feel very welcome during our two-day stay. In addition, the breakfast was fantastic, and made fresh each morning. I would certainly recommend the White House for anyone looking to stay near St Andrews!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Eventhough our Scottland-Trip has not yet come to an end we can say that this is and will be the best B&B ever.
We were lucky to get a room without booking because someone cancelled his reservation. Anne, the host, is a very nice person who made us feel at home as soon as we stepped into the doorway. Our room was very nice, clean and with big bathroom. Above our expectations. The highlight was breakfast: Fresh berries and fruits of different kinds, cereals, joghurts, juices, Scottish breakfast, ....everything was just delicious and lovely arranged. We felt a little bit like King and Queen at their summer residence :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had an extra day and hadn't booked ahead or checked out any website - so this lovely house and host was a wonderful surprise. A warm welcome, a beautiful house and a great breakfast.

The room was comfortable, the bed just perfect for sleeping and the bathroom was marvelous. We watched a deer in the meadow out of our window in the morning and the new born foal in the neighbors field - such a nice start to the day! Breakfast was a fabulous assortment and we ate while looking out across the fields, so peaceful.

Anne was a joy to meet. She keeps the house immaculate, makes a great breakfast and makes sure you have anything you need. There is lots of information at hand as you leave so if you have any free time, you'll find something fun to do.

I was so happy we found this lovely place, and have no doubt we'll be back. If you want the excitement and golf of St. Andrews, but a peaceful nights sleep, this is the place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: Leuchars Lodge, Leuchars, St. Andrews KY16 0EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews > Leuchars
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Leuchars
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.