We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancheros Mexican Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rancheros Mexican Bistro
63 Whitfield St, Guilford, CT 06437-2652
203-458-0009
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have lunch or dinner here quite often. The food is always fresh and delicious. It's not the typical tex-mex but always delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    4
    3
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quick fresh mexican style lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Like the decor and food, outdoor seating as well. All enjoyed their lunch meal, lunch specials every day!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quality Mexican food with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have been here twice, and both times have loved what I ordered. The first time, I had the special soup - Butternut Squash - that had an excellent taste and little kick at the end. Really enjoyed it. For dinner, I had the chicken burrito. So fresh tasting. This last time, I had the chicken tostadas which I've never had before. Not only was the presentation wonderful, they were delicious. Oh, and there's something about their chips. I normally don't love tortilla chips, but these are crispy and delightful.

The place is small - only about 5 tables or so, but I like that. It's not fancy - but I liked that too. I believe the gentleman who waited on us both times is one of the owners as well, and he's very friendly and helpful. I hope more people find out about this place - it really is good. And it's nice to go somewhere where you know the food will be good, the service will be friendly, and you can relax.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Don't let this restaurant fail..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Not your traditional Tex-Mex stuff. Helpful staff and great tasting selections. Small with seats and benches that can be less than comfortable. Also, because of the design of the restaurant can be cold in the winter. Forget that and enjoy the food. Told corkage charge, even to open a bottle of beer, is because the fees do not change just because of being in the process of getting a license.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

The best Mexican food I have had in a long time. The guacamole and salsas are made fresh daily and are out of this world. The place was a nice warm feel to it and is very clean. Can't wait to go back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancheros Mexican Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancheros Mexican Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.