We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel is extremely convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Groton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Groton to your Saves list
Ramada Groton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Kings Hwy., Groton, CT 06340 (Formerly Gold Star Inn A Clarion Collection)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Groton
midlandpark nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“hotel is extremely convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

hotel is just off I95,the room was a little small but clean,you have afridg ,micro and the tv has hbo.The hotel has a indoor pool and hot tub we did not use it but it looked inviting,we walked next door to the diner for supper,it is a good place to eat and very convenient.The continental breakfast was adequate,we got directions to Mohegan Sun casino which was only twenty minutes away

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    90
    63
    56
    48
See reviews for
114
109
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longview
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Had a group of senior adults who stayed here for a week or a total of 43 paid nights. Always a bit leary about what the hotel will look like when I arrive. This one was given thumbs up from the start. The rooms are roomy with 2 kings sized beds, the beds had pillow top mattresses (very nice), the sink in the bathroom and outside the bathroom was a nice touch, the shower head was great, the tv was very good and the continental breakfast was not bad. We are not big breakfast eaters so the breakfast was fine (some of our group ate there 9 mornings in a row and had no issue with it). April and her grandmother sought to please and serve during breakfast and were a delight. We did not eat at the Indian restaurant, but it looked very classy. The location was great (be careful if you are trying to north on I-95 as you might end up going south to New Boston). Sal's Diner across the street was excellent and the Wal-Mart was nice to have if we needed it. Seemed liked the washers and dryers had a few issues, but they had one of each working while we were there. The folks at the desk were very responsive on all occasions (I dealt with no less than 4 and they were all great). The hot tub was not particularly hot 1 night, but they warmed it up some more. Heated pool was nice touch. The value was definitely here and we strongly recommend it to those needing a place in Groton. We had to drive over the bridge to get to New London, but the deal was more than worth it. This will be our first place to check when we return in the future!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadagrotonct, guest services coordinator at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, October 24, 2009
Dear "DLELongview",

Thank you again for the kind words, and taking the time in posting a review. It was our pleasure meeting all of you & as our guests, we are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay. Perfect timing if I may add, as the weather and folliage has turned past its peak I will be sure to send along praise to our staff. Next visit maybe we can persuade you in trying Indian cuisine. :) Many are hesitant but I promise you would be quite suprised.

We look forward to seeing you in the future and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable, but the door had a problem closing. The hotel looks like it needs an update. The carpets are worn and soiled, and the hotel does have an odor, but not of Indian food as other reviews have suggested. The windows in the room could use a little Windex. The breakfast was below par. It was basically previously plastic wrapped pastries. (in other words, a carb fest). There were scrambled eggs, but a little dried out. The staff, however, was very friendly and hospitable, and the location is ideal. We were visiting relatives, and it was easy to get around. We did visit the Mohegan Sun casino, and it was convenient. Also, Walmart across the street for any incidentals you may need as well as several restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

A great hotel. Clean, friendly staff, access to health club while staying,. Great breakfast. Close enough to the United States Coast Guard Academy. I would definitely stay here again if we visit the area. Very good price for all that it offers. !!!!!!
Friendly front staff that allowed me to get faxes from front dest.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadagrotonct, Guest Services at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, October 11, 2009
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review. We are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay and take pride in our service and accommodations. In regard to access to a local health club; we have found this option to favored by guests versus a few pieces of gym equipment and treadmills.

We look forward to your return and thank you again for choosing Ramada Mystic / Groton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

There were quite a few pets and you would never know they were there. We stayed in the back building and it seemed very quiet. Although it is close to the highway we did not hear traffic noise and the neighborhood was good for exercising the dog. The charge for the dog was reasonable. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadagrotonct, Michael- Guest Services Coordinator at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, September 8, 2009
On behalf of the staff and managment we would like to thank you the positive comments. We are one of the few properties in the area to accept pets, with a limited 6 pre-designated pet rooms. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

creepy vibe in general, outside doors unlocked, rickety dirty elevator, ancient ice machine, drink machine unstocked, toilet clogged/sluggish, shower head falling off, dingy, stained towels, wi-fi in room intermittent, my entire family skeeved-out. couldn't wait to leave. how this place gets to use the Ramada logo is beyond me!

and, our room looked nothing like those in the photos here.

liked best: the breakfast wasn't too bad, coffee acceptable. and i guess the location is ok.

but really--i will think twice before booking a Ramada!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My only complaint was the odd odors in the halls and our room. The front desk clerk was plesant, but the other emplyees around the property were not friendly, wouldn't even smile. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. If I would have read all the negitive reviews I would have been worried about my stay, but those experiences were not mine. The pool and hot tubs were working and clean. Stayed 3 nights and woukld stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Groton

Address: 156 Kings Hwy., Groton, CT 06340 (Formerly Gold Star Inn A Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Renovated Summer 2007!! Two Story, 69 Room Hotel. Continental Breakfast 7 days a week. 24/7 Coffee. Indoor heated Pool & Jacuzzi. Restaurant & Hair Salon on-site. Pet Friendly. Truck Parking Available. Close to major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Groton Hotel Groton
Clarion Groton
Groton Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Groton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.