We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ramada groton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Groton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Groton to your Saves list
Ramada Groton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Kings Hwy., Groton, CT 06340 (Formerly Gold Star Inn A Clarion Collection)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    100
    69
    61
    49
See reviews for
128
115
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

There was a blizzard when we went and we got "locked in" because everything else was closed and it was a state of emergency. It was nice that there was a Walmart across the street so we could buy some food since the hotel restaurant closed.
The place was pretty dirty, stains on the wall, ceilings, and sheets. The hot tub was good the first day, then overnight some kids went in and made a hole in the hot tub!
I've stayed in cleaner hostels in Europe than this place and it had an old smell to it. If you are looking just for a place to sleep, it gets the job done. If you are looking for it to add to a nice getaway, I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear SD022...Thank you for taking the time to review your blizzard of November 2012 stay with us. We are always glad to hear from our guests and appreciate your feedback. Unfortunately, large snowstorms such as the one that stranded you and many others here are extremely trying. Some guests are stranded here, others are trying to get here, and still others are trying to get home. Our staff also have to work multiple shifts because other staff can't get here, some of them with children waiting for them to come home. Even under those circumstances they do the best they can to accommodate our guests. We apologize that in this case we did not meet your expectations. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stopped here 1 night on 16 day roadtrip. Hotel newly decorated, room’s fine, clean and comfortable. Handy laundry onsite but need own soap (Wallmart opposite or you may find 2 bottles we left behind by mistake). Indian restaurant in hotel which was ok or diner across street.
Good value hotel for price, would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Mart166...Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay with us. We are always glad to hear guest's comments and feedback concerning their stay and appreciate you taking the time to do so. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We've stayed at this Ramada several times, and for the money you can't beat the value in this area. The staff is very helpful, and the kids loved the pool and hot tub. The location is great, right off the I95 exit, close to Groton, New London and Mystic, and it has a Walmart and 5 Guys right next store for necessities and food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Stephen C...Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and for your complimentary words regarding our staff. We always try to provide our guests with a good comfortable stay at a good value. We are glad you have enjoyed your stays with us and hope to see you again the next time you are in the area. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Obviously this is an old hotel that has been updated with paint and carpet. We had a king room which was spacious, clean and comfortable. However, the tub faucet wouldn't turn off, lamp on desk had a broken light receptical which was hanging down and bathroom door was rotting on the bottom from what looked like water damage. My husband went down to check out breakfast and it wasn't anything he would eat. There is however free wifi, a Walmart and other shopping across the street. Very handy to New London, Groton and Mystic. We were in town for Coast Guard Academy parents weekend and it is only 5 minutes across the river. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We would stay here again as it was clean, safe and centrally located for the activities we were doing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Jrath01...Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are always glad to hear from our guests and appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback concerning your stay. Thank you also for your complementary words regarding our staff and convenient location. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Groton

Address: 156 Kings Hwy., Groton, CT 06340 (Formerly Gold Star Inn A Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Renovated Summer 2007!! Two Story, 69 Room Hotel. Continental Breakfast 7 days a week. 24/7 Coffee. Indoor heated Pool & Jacuzzi. Restaurant & Hair Salon on-site. Pet Friendly. Truck Parking Available. Close to major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Groton Hotel Groton
Clarion Groton
Groton Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Groton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.