We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An " OK" stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Groton

Save Saved
You added Ramada Groton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ramada Groton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Kings Hwy., Groton, CT 06340 (Formerly Gold Star Inn A Clarion Collection)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book in Advance; Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Groton
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    79
    54
    50
    44
See reviews for
98
100
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We've stayed at this Ramada several times, and for the money you can't beat the value in this area. The staff is very helpful, and the kids loved the pool and hot tub. The location is great, right off the I95 exit, close to Groton, New London and Mystic, and it has a Walmart and 5 Guys right next store for necessities and food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Stephen C...Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and for your complimentary words regarding our staff. We always try to provide our guests with a good comfortable stay at a good value. We are glad you have enjoyed your stays with us and hope to see you again the next time you are in the area. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Obviously this is an old hotel that has been updated with paint and carpet. We had a king room which was spacious, clean and comfortable. However, the tub faucet wouldn't turn off, lamp on desk had a broken light receptical which was hanging down and bathroom door was rotting on the bottom from what looked like water damage. My husband went down to check out breakfast and it wasn't anything he would eat. There is however free wifi, a Walmart and other shopping across the street. Very handy to New London, Groton and Mystic. We were in town for Coast Guard Academy parents weekend and it is only 5 minutes across the river. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We would stay here again as it was clean, safe and centrally located for the activities we were doing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Jrath01...Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are always glad to hear from our guests and appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback concerning your stay. Thank you also for your complementary words regarding our staff and convenient location. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Worn, outdated.
We needed a quick stopover, quick sleep to leave @ 2am.
First room we went into room 211, it was stuffy. Walked to the a/c unit, unplugged. Plugged it in, and opened the control area, the knob for the fan/a/c selection spun round and round, the temperature knob could turn right to left without turning on.
Called to front desk, moved to room 214. There was a 2" across rip and a 12" down tear in the window curtain. The 2 condiment packets that were for the coffee pot were ripped open already, and the refrigerator was on total defrost mode, the inside of it was wet, and dripping.
Bed was comfortable, but we definitely were up @ 1 am and out by 2 am. No thank you, never recommending that place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Clean hotel. Good amentities for the price. Food in the Indian restaurant was very good. Staff was excellent. Hot tub and pool were very clean. The only negative was the continental breakfast. But that is fairly easy to overlook because everything else was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear David T...Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad it was anjoyable one and hope to see you again the next time you are in the area. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Groton

Also Known As:
Ramada Groton Hotel Groton
Ramada Groton Hotel
Clarion Groton
Groton Ramada
Address: 156 Kings Hwy., Groton, CT 06340 (Formerly Gold Star Inn A Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Groton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Renovated Summer 2007!! Two Story, 69 Room Hotel. Continental Breakfast 7 days a week. 24/7 Coffee. Indoor heated Pool & Jacuzzi. Restaurant & Hair Salon on-site. Pet Friendly. Truck Parking Available. Close to major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ramada Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Groton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.