We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blizzard of February 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Groton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Groton to your Saves list
Ramada Groton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Kings Hwy., Groton, CT 06340 (Formerly Gold Star Inn A Clarion Collection)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off 2-Night Stays
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Stonington, Connecticut
1 review
“Blizzard of February 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

As a result of the blizzard February 8, 2013, I lost power at my home. I called the Ramada in Groton, CT and requested a room and asked if I could bring my boxer. They were very accomodating during my entire stay. I ended up getting my power back on Sunday night. The staff were great throughout the entire ordeal. My dog and I enjoyed our "adventure". Eric the desk clerk was great and made my stay easy and enjoyable. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Kathy C...Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us and for your compliments regarding our staff. We were very happy to hear you and your boxer enjoyed your "adventure", especially under the circumstances. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be forwarded to the appropriate staff. Thank you again for your kind words and for allowing us to be there during what was a difficult time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    107
    85
    70
    62
See reviews for
157
124
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
pawcatuck
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Desperate to get out of our cold house after losing power in the blizzard, we started calling around numerous hotels in the area - we have a dog and two small kids so it was tough to find a hotel that would accommodate all of us on short notice...... many hotels wouldn't pick up the phone, some were downright rude when we finally got someone on the line.....

Enter Eric at the front desk and the staff at the Ramada - he bent over backwards to find us a room for the night - and the hotel even gave a 15% discount for locals affected by the storm. They also waved the extra pet fee.

As a hotel - it's average, and fairly good value for the money - so 3 stars there -

But the front desk service rates 5 stars all the way......Thanks to Eric and the staff there for making our snowy evening a stress free relaxing experience.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Bryan M...Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us. Your kind words for our staff are very much appreciated. We work very hard to make sure each and every guest has a stay that fulfills their expectations but it is when circumstances are most challenging, both for our guests and our staff, that we feel we are at our best. Thank you again for your appreciative words and we thank you in return for allowing us the opportunity to be there to help during a difficult time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

this hotel has seen better days it is very old and not well maintained ( it is not kept clean)
the cleaning staff does not add standard supplies soap cups etc. their was a very strong food smell from the restaurant in the halls and the rooms the desk staff was pleasant

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Alan L...Thank you for sharing your stay with us and for your compliments regarding our front desk staff. They work very hard every day at making sure each and every guest is satisfied with their stay and their expectations met. Your feedback is important and is used to ensure each and every guest has an enjoyable time spent with us. Again, thank you very much for your stay and for sharing your review with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at The Ramada in Groton because you expect higher standards from Ramada, boy were we wrong! One reason chose this hotel ( and paid a little more because of it) was the fact that they had a pool and our son loves to swim and it is also a great to wind down after a busy day of sightseeing. We were irate at the condition that the pool was in. It had a oily reside over the entire surface. It was also so cloudy that you could barely see the bottom of the pool. It was quite frankly one of the nastiest pools I have ever seen! We did not even dare set foot in it for fear of what we possibly could contract from the cesspool. The hot tub was just as nasty. It was so full of chlorine, that just standing next to it made your eyes sting. It too was filled with disgusting water, so we skipped that as well.
The room was not well kept and was dirty. Dust all over, dirt on the floor, stains on the sheets, hair in the shower and very dated.
I would avoid this hotel like the plague!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear HeatherChris99...Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us about your recent stay. We are sorry to hear you felt it was an unsatisfactory one. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be forwarded to those dealing with the issues you addressed. In regards to our rates...we always work towards keeping our rates family-oriented and we will continue to do so. Our heated indoor pool area is routinely used by hundreds of guests during any given weekend alone, many of them children, and our staff work very hard towards keeping the pool and jacuzzi area a safe, clean, and enjoyable experience for each and every guest, every day. Again, thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Groton
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Groton
2.0 mi away
Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
0.2 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Groton

Address: 156 Kings Hwy., Groton, CT 06340 (Formerly Gold Star Inn A Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Renovated Summer 2007!! Two Story, 69 Room Hotel. Continental Breakfast 7 days a week. 24/7 Coffee. Indoor heated Pool & Jacuzzi. Restaurant & Hair Salon on-site. Pet Friendly. Truck Parking Available. Close to major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ramada Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Groton Hotel Groton
Clarion Groton
Groton Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Groton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.