We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Groton

Save Saved
You added Ramada Groton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Groton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Kings Hwy., Groton, CT 06340 (Formerly Gold Star Inn A Clarion Collection)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Groton
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    85
    56
    54
    47
See reviews for
105
102
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

this hotel has seen better days it is very old and not well maintained ( it is not kept clean)
the cleaning staff does not add standard supplies soap cups etc. their was a very strong food smell from the restaurant in the halls and the rooms the desk staff was pleasant

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Alan L...Thank you for sharing your stay with us and for your compliments regarding our front desk staff. They work very hard every day at making sure each and every guest is satisfied with their stay and their expectations met. Your feedback is important and is used to ensure each and every guest has an enjoyable time spent with us. Again, thank you very much for your stay and for sharing your review with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at The Ramada in Groton because you expect higher standards from Ramada, boy were we wrong! One reason chose this hotel ( and paid a little more because of it) was the fact that they had a pool and our son loves to swim and it is also a great to wind down after a busy day of sightseeing. We were irate at the condition that the pool was in. It had a oily reside over the entire surface. It was also so cloudy that you could barely see the bottom of the pool. It was quite frankly one of the nastiest pools I have ever seen! We did not even dare set foot in it for fear of what we possibly could contract from the cesspool. The hot tub was just as nasty. It was so full of chlorine, that just standing next to it made your eyes sting. It too was filled with disgusting water, so we skipped that as well.
The room was not well kept and was dirty. Dust all over, dirt on the floor, stains on the sheets, hair in the shower and very dated.
I would avoid this hotel like the plague!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear HeatherChris99...Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us about your recent stay. We are sorry to hear you felt it was an unsatisfactory one. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be forwarded to those dealing with the issues you addressed. In regards to our rates...we always work towards keeping our rates family-oriented and we will continue to do so. Our heated indoor pool area is routinely used by hundreds of guests during any given weekend alone, many of them children, and our staff work very hard towards keeping the pool and jacuzzi area a safe, clean, and enjoyable experience for each and every guest, every day. Again, thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, MA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here one night due to getting caught in a very bad snow storm on the way home from Mohegan Sun. The price was great. The room was okay (two double or queen beds). They were comfortable...but the sheets had what I hope was rust stains). I took pictures and may put them up. The bathroom was nicely and recently redone. The TV was fine (but it was not HD...old TV). The hallway and stairwell rugs were the dirtiest I've every seen in a hotel. But, in common areas we're all wearing shoes anyways. The rug in the room didn't seem that bad (but I wore socks and wouldn't have risked bare feet). This hotel was worth the $55/night price to get us off the snowy roads. Seems more like a hotel for younger party people (loud at night...people running in the halls all night). I wouldn't have brought my daughter here. But, it seems like an okay place for a quick stay and affordable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Lady Trip Taker...Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent stay with us...we value your feedback. We also appreciate your noting our rates being a good value and we are glad you chose us to get off the road on that snowy night. With regard to some of the other points you addressed...the bathrooms were indeed redone last year and in the coming months so too will all new carpeting be installed. Again, thank you very much for taking time to share your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Groton

Address: 156 Kings Hwy., Groton, CT 06340 (Formerly Gold Star Inn A Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Groton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Renovated Summer 2007!! Two Story, 69 Room Hotel. Continental Breakfast 7 days a week. 24/7 Coffee. Indoor heated Pool & Jacuzzi. Restaurant & Hair Salon on-site. Pet Friendly. Truck Parking Available. Close to major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Groton Hotel Groton
Clarion Groton
Groton Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Groton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.