We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Get Away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Groton Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Groton Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Groton Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Gold Star Hwy, Groton, CT 06340   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Dover,NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Weekend Get Away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room was comfortable, however, some of the lights did n't work and the light switch for the mai light in the entry way needed to be fixed. The main problem was NO WifI WAS AVAILABLE during our two night stay. That's unsatisfactory.

Room Tip: Best room for the price is a suite. Ist Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunil S, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that you experienced connectivity issues with the WiFi. It seems that your stay may have coincided with our planned upgrade to a better Internet service provider, We now have speeds 10 times faster than our previous service!

On your next visit, please come see me if you experience any connectivity issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    69
    39
    25
    18
See reviews for
49
76
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, NH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the outside, this hotel may be a little intimidating. It's not really visible from the main road and the parking lot is oversized and unused (it may have been used as a conference center is its younger days) which makes the building seem more deserted than it should. There is no hotel sign on the front of the building either.

Inside, the hotel seems aged with wood paneling and a little bit of a wood, musty smell when you walk in. There are no elevators and there is only an ice machine on the first floor.

Despite the outdated aesthetics (and to be fair, there was a sign that said they were doing renovations, so they may be trying to update their look), the hotel was very cheap (under $100 on a Sat. night on Labor Day Weekend) thanks to Priceline Name your Price. Our room was surprisingly large. We had a room on the 2nd floor, near the lobby and stairs which was convenient. The room was much larger than expected! It was a studio suite with a large king size bed. There was a flat screen TV in front of the bed and another one in the living area along with a refrigerator and microwave. Bathroom area was clean and water pressure in shower was adjustable and temperature was great.

Room was very clean and we had a great night. They also include two free breakfast passes, which can be used in their restaurant. We had a late night at Foxwoods, so we did not wake up in time for this, so can’t review how the food was here.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area, for either proximity to Foxwoods or for the coast area. If it weren’t for sites like TripAdvisor, we wouldn’t have been inclined to stay here because of its appearance from the outside. But based on the good reviews, we figured it must be decent on the inside and we were right!

Room Tip: Closer to the lobby will make entrance/exit easier since there are no elevators. Or for more privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunil S, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I'm glad you had a great visit! As you have mentioned, we are in the process of making improvements and I'm glad you had the opportunity to experience our recently purchased beds and flat screens.

I definitely encourage you to come visit us again, especially for the food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A friend recommended this hotel as a "clean, no frills" place to stay near Mystic. I'm glad I followed his advice. The entrance to this hotel is easy to miss, so call ahead for directions. The front lobby is charming with a small Koi pond and sitting area. A small reading nook with easy chairs and books is located at the top of the lobby stairs. The main building does not have an elevator, but the stairs are an easy climb. I was somewhat concerned when I realized that the lobby and halls were not air conditioned, but the air conditioner in our room worked well. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The building is older, but seems to be in the process of being renovated. Rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. One drawback was tight quarters in the bathroom and a toilet without a lid. The ice-machine is located downstairs in the smoking wing (not pleasant for non-smokers). We enjoyed the hotel restaurant which serves a "killer" prime rib! My friend tackled the lobster. The complimentary breakfast with a sit-down menu was also a pleasant surprise after a week of continental breakfasts at other hotels on the road. My friend asked if I would I stay here again. My answer? Yes :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This inn had two rooms left when we passed through Mystic during a very busy weekend, so we stayed. It is well priced for the area, and we were rented a two bedroom one bath apartment. The entire property is dated, but kept clean. It seems like the staff is doing the best they can with what they have to work with. There is a restaurant on site that is affordable priced, with a bar. The inn offers short and long term rentals and is close to attractions in Mystic. Even though it is located near the highway, you really don't hear the traffic with the air on. It was a good night's rest for us and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Firstly, I We took a chance on booking this hotel despite the numerous comments regarding the staleness and age of the carpeting, furnishings, etc. because the price was too tempting for a two bedroom, full kitchen room. We have two young children, so they amenities are important to us. We were willing to accept old furniture, and even brought Febreze to combat any odors!

Our first impressions were scary. Despite being prepared (thanks past reviewers!), we were dismayed at the look of the hotel sign (major peeling - looked like it belonged to a hotel that had been long abandoned!!), and the hallway carpeting (we were in Building 500), which looked like a herd of wild animals had just come through. But those fears were dissipated when we actually entered our room. Yes, the furniture is old, and looks like it was purchased from a discount outlet store, but the carpeting was fine, and the place was huge!! The kids shrieked with delight at the sight of it all, and ran from room to room. Whew!

The place to be more than adequate, size-wise. In fact, the walk-in closet in our master bedroom was bigger than the one I have at home! And we liked that there was an extra sink outside of the bathroom for brushing teeth, etc. Sheets were decent, mattresses were VERY comfortable, and seemed to be brand new (which was, in fact confirmed by our waitress the next morning). TV's were also new, and I believe the sink and bathtub was new too.

What was NOT new, and really needs to be the next thing on the list: kitchen appliances. My god!!! Both the microwave and oven were AT LEAST 20 years old, which made them somewhat unusable. Both have dials. When was the last time you saw a microwave with dials!! We had bought a number of microwaveable things from Trader Joe's to eat while on vacation, but ended up using the oven and stove, which was faster. Example - fried rice package said 1-2 minutes; we put it in for about 8 minutes, then decided to put it in the pan to finish up. I guess the microwave guide, which said 9-11 minutes for frozen veg was right... wow. Oven also worked, but again, it was really old, and I couldn't for the life of me figure out the timer. Plus, it made the whole area really hot when it was on.

Which leads to the other main problem, which is the lack of air-conditioning in the 2nd bedroom. The one in the master bedroom and living room is great, but if you close the doors to the 2nd bedroom or use the oven (which increases the temp of the bedroom, which is across the way from the kitchen, by about 15 degrees), it gets really hot. We started cranking up the living room a/c to maximum each day when we left so the kid's room would be nice and cool when it was time for them to sleep. We forgot one day, and it was boiling in the room at night. I literally put ice on their beds to cool them down!!

Other pluses, though, were the free breakfast (very good, though not great, IMO) and the location, which is right off the highway, near to many restaurants (Five Guys Burgers and an Indian restaurant in the Ramada with good reviews are both within walking distance), and right across from a large shopping area with a supermarket, dollar store, Kohl's, Panera, and more - perfect for picnic supplies, and getting anything you might have forgotten to pack.

Would stay there again if they made more improvements, which they seem to be in the process of, so fingers crossed for next time :) Otherwise, we'll be looking for another place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent Saturday and Sunday visiting the Mystic area of Connecticut. Discovered Groton Inn two years ago staying only Sunday night(only night available). This time we called in advance and booked both nights. When checking in Arline (Guest Services Manager) at the desk, actualy remembered us. We were put in an efficiency with a king bed and full kitchen. The bed was super comfortabe but was being replace with something better. Each day were given a voucher for a full sit down, waitress servied breakfast that was excellent. Everyone was very nice from the cleaning staff to the waitresses, especially Arline. If you forgot something Walmart is across the street.We will stay there again and highly recommend thr Groton Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This in not the best motel I have ever stayed at but neither is it the worst. Paid $124.95 + tax for two nights 20 and 21 June 2013. Our room had two queen beds, a large living room area and a kitchenette with microwave and small frig. The only short coming was the noisy A/C unit. The overall property is in fair to good condition. A little rough around the edges. Yes, the bath room is small and contains only the tub and toilet. But then I don't live in the bathroom and all we wanted was a comfortable place to sleep and shower. This filled the bill at a very nice price. And I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont think there was a pool nor room service. It isn't that kind of hotel. We wanted a place c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Groton Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groton Inn and Suites

Address: 99 Gold Star Hwy, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Groton Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service hotel with traditional rooms, suites and full apartments. Complimentary full served hot breakfast of choice and free wifi.Lounge and restaurant serving 7 days a week-continously breakfast thru dinner. Weekend lobster specials and early bird dinner specials. Wifi complimentary. Only 5 minutes from Mystic and close to Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino, and U.S. Submarine Base Groton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Groton Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groton Hotel Groton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Groton Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.