We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groton find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Groton Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Groton Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Groton Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Gold Star Hwy, Groton, CT 06340   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Wading River, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Groton find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I got our room, 48 hours before a trip to Connecticut for a CCR concert at Foxwoods, on Priceline. The entire staff: desk, upstairs, and breakfast were all very friendly and welcoming. Checking out tripadvisor, I was very impressed by Nancie's comments to each reviewer whether good or poor. I wanted to personally compliment her, but she was not at the desk at the time.
The rooms upstairs are a bit dated, but the rug was clean and new looking. The only minor complaint we had was we could hear snoring from the adjacent room through the door between the rooms. Ear plugs solved that for me, my wife could sleep through almost anything.
The complimentary breakfast was outstanding. BTW, so was the concert!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write after your stay. I heard you were looking for me however I was stuck on a conference call when they slipped that note in front of me and you were on your way by the time I was done! I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Watch too as sometimes we have special discounts for some of the concerts, if you show your ticket receipts. When that happens last minute it is on the web site blog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    66
    36
    23
    17
See reviews for
45
71
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had to stay here unexpectedly due to a snow storm. Upon walking in I felt like I was in a place much nicer than expected at this price. A very homey and somewhat upscale feel, with lush furniture and a mahogany-like wood decor in the lobby. Much nicer than walking into a Days Inn or other "typical" chain motel. Off to one side is a fountain with coi fish in it and beyond the lobby is a cozy bar and restaurant with a roaring fireplace - more like a tavern. Room was spotless, modern, and spacious, with fridge, micro, full cable tv, cofee, and hair dryer. On top of all that, they give you a coupon for a full, hot breakfast in the tavern in the morning. Eggs, pancakes, french toast - whatever you want off the menu. And it's full-service sit-down service, not a help yourself breakfast "bufet" Overall, excellent value and well beyond expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write as you passed thru the area. We appreciate the comments. It is a surprise once you get into the hotel and see all that is available. Once you get beyond our entrance sign that has weathered some of the storms this year-not too well, we provide a good customer experience. Please stop again whenever you are in the neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent the night recently at the Groton Inn and Suites in Groton CT using a RoomSaver.COM coupon and had a wonderful room at a super price (including FULL hot breakfast, unlimited). I would recommend this location without reservation and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Recommend King Room on 1st Floor at end of corridor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we look forward to your return visit(s)......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus,OH
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here on 9/8/12. When we pulled up, we saw several drunks out front being loud. This turned out to be a wedding reception. It didnt become a lerger problem, but made a bad first impression.
Front desk staff were not paricuarily nice or helpful. The room was good...clean...the breakfast was a good point....overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We appreciate your review. Glad you enjoyed the hotel stay and breakfast and once you passed the wedding guests at the entrance the experience improved. We are checking to see who may have registered you that day to work on any guest service issues with the front desk staff. Usually they are friendly and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Upon reading past reviews about this property, I really didn't know what to expect.
Well, both girlfriend & I were pleasantly surprised with just about everything.
Check-in was a snap. Front desk personnel were very pleasant. Room (Suite actually) was very roomy for 2 people. Then to have a free breakfast the next morning pretty much sealed the deal. We're talking sit-down restaurant....not a quicky buffet in & out deal. We were there for only one night for the Zac Brown concert at Mohegan Sun.Only a 10-minute drive. very convenient location and very good value for the price.
I highly recommend this property; especially for venues at Mohegan and Foxwoods.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your assessment of the property. Glad you had a great time (I too enjoyed the Zac Brown Concert!), "keep us in mind" for future concert trips to the area. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I recently stayed in the Groton Inn and Suites in one of the suites out back. It was terribly dirty on the walk up to the room. The carpets appear to be really old, and the door at the top of the stairs looks to be water damaged. The suite itself was average for the area. It's a little dated, but does come with an up to date television set in the living room. The laundry facilities (which were located in a seperate building from where I was staying) contained old washers and dryers, and could use replacement. I will say, the maid staff was very friendly and helpful. Oh, and there's no pool! I probably wouldn't stay here if my company didn't book the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We appreciate our guests taking time to write. I walked the path you took to your room and have addressed some liter found under the stairwell with the team. Thank you for your comments, which assist us in being better at what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The reviews were really mixed with this hotel, so we were somewhat apprehensive. The hotel itself was very pretty and nicely decorated. There was a strange odor when walking in to the lobby and in the hallways. We never really did figure out what it was, unless it was an insecticide smell, of which is what it reminded us. The rooms were comfortable. It was close to a military base, and most of the other guests we saw looked to be military. The rooms were quiet, comfortable. They still had some of the same odor as the halls and lobby. There was breakfast included, that was an order off the menu. Price was only $58. We thought that was a great deal!

Room Tip: Ask for any discounts (AAA, AARP, military, etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the package with the full breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Groton Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groton Inn and Suites

Address: 99 Gold Star Hwy, Groton, CT 06340
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Groton Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service hotel with traditional rooms, suites and full apartments. Complimentary full served hot breakfast of choice and free wifi.Lounge and restaurant serving 7 days a week-continously breakfast thru dinner. Weekend lobster specials and early bird dinner specials. Wifi complimentary. Only 5 minutes from Mystic and close to Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino, and U.S. Submarine Base Groton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Groton Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groton Hotel Groton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Groton Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.