We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT TOO SHABBY....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Groton Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Groton Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Groton Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Gold Star Hwy, Groton, CT 06340   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Groton
Rochester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NOT TOO SHABBY....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Upon reading past reviews about this property, I really didn't know what to expect.
Well, both girlfriend & I were pleasantly surprised with just about everything.
Check-in was a snap. Front desk personnel were very pleasant. Room (Suite actually) was very roomy for 2 people. Then to have a free breakfast the next morning pretty much sealed the deal. We're talking sit-down restaurant....not a quicky buffet in & out deal. We were there for only one night for the Zac Brown concert at Mohegan Sun.Only a 10-minute drive. very convenient location and very good value for the price.
I highly recommend this property; especially for venues at Mohegan and Foxwoods.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your assessment of the property. Glad you had a great time (I too enjoyed the Zac Brown Concert!), "keep us in mind" for future concert trips to the area. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    54
    33
    18
    13
See reviews for
39
57
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I recently stayed in the Groton Inn and Suites in one of the suites out back. It was terribly dirty on the walk up to the room. The carpets appear to be really old, and the door at the top of the stairs looks to be water damaged. The suite itself was average for the area. It's a little dated, but does come with an up to date television set in the living room. The laundry facilities (which were located in a seperate building from where I was staying) contained old washers and dryers, and could use replacement. I will say, the maid staff was very friendly and helpful. Oh, and there's no pool! I probably wouldn't stay here if my company didn't book the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We appreciate our guests taking time to write. I walked the path you took to your room and have addressed some liter found under the stairwell with the team. Thank you for your comments, which assist us in being better at what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The reviews were really mixed with this hotel, so we were somewhat apprehensive. The hotel itself was very pretty and nicely decorated. There was a strange odor when walking in to the lobby and in the hallways. We never really did figure out what it was, unless it was an insecticide smell, of which is what it reminded us. The rooms were comfortable. It was close to a military base, and most of the other guests we saw looked to be military. The rooms were quiet, comfortable. They still had some of the same odor as the halls and lobby. There was breakfast included, that was an order off the menu. Price was only $58. We thought that was a great deal!

Room Tip: Ask for any discounts (AAA, AARP, military, etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the package with the full breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Located inland but only a short distance to the Connecticut shoreline. Not luxurious, but environment was pleasant. Large room with separate "living room" and sleep areas. Staff were friendly and helpful. Generous cooked-to-order breakfast included--much better than the usual serve-yourself cold breakfast with inferior bread products. This hotel is a reasonably-priced alternative to motel chains. It's not a destination hotel, but a good place to stay if you are en route to shore, nearby cities (e.g., Providence RI), etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for one night at this hotel. The apartment was spacious but smelled very musty in all rooms. The bedding included very flat pillows and a blanket that looked extremely flammable. There were no extra pillows or blankets available unfortunately.

There were three TV's in the apartment which was nice. The bathroom was a bit strange - there were two doors to the one bathroom in the apartment. It led to a lot of door shutting and opening throughout the night.

We stayed on the bottom floor and the people above us had many kids staying in the room. All we could hear were kids running, stomping and jumping for a good part of the night and bright and early in the morning as well. Quiet hours start at 10PM and we did call the front desk and the people upstairs quieted down after the quiet time was in affect.

The hotel restaurant was interesting. There were a lot of divers staying at the hotel and when we had dinner there they had quite a bit to drink at the bar in the middle of the restaurant and were being extremely loud and inappropriate. Since we had an 8 year old with us it made for a very uncomfortable dinner.

Breakfast was nice but our server ended up being overwhelmed and we actually had to go chase her down and wait a while by the door to get her attention just to get the check.

The plus is that this hotel was pretty close to Ocean Beach so in the morning we had a very short drive to the beach.

Overall this hotel was OK - we really stayed here because it could sleep more people than a regular hotel room and for the close drive to the beach. I'd highly recommend asking for a room on a high floor if you're planning to stay here and eat at one of the restaurants nearby rather than the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property. I can assure you the linens are standard for fire protection. I have shared your comments on the other guests language around the bar area with the F&B Director. The lounge staff will be enforcing a more appropriate language behavior in the future for the benefit of all our guests, so thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Village, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

At first glance, the Groton Inn & Suites in Groton, CT is truly nothing special. The hotel sign, as you pull in, is in need a repair and we became slightly concerned about what we'd find, when we checked in. The place turned out to be a decent surprise.

A run-of-the-mill roadside inn featuring the usual amenities, the GI&S is just the sort of place you want for a night or two when you're on the road to another destination, or you're hoping to be within a decent distance of area attractions without having to pay monumental rates. We stayed there and were a stone's throw from Mystic Seaport and all its area attractions, as well as Foxwoods Casino, which we visited (and Mohegan Sun, as well).

Check-in, with a friendly staff member, was quick and efficient. The lobby area features a nice Koi pond and some seating, but there's definitely the presence of some dank, musty odor and the lighting could be better. The style of the place is older, but well maintained.

Our room featured an ample, King-sized bed with regulation bedding and a totally separate living-style space, which was nice. The room had two older televisions (nice feature for when your companion doesn't share the same taste in programs) and a decent selection of channels. There's no flat-screen here, but a hook-up for your laptop is visibly located on a desk area and the place features free WiFi. A small fridge, microwave and coffee maker completed the setting. The bathroom was tiny, had a wall-mounted hair-dryer, and was immaculately kept.

The night we stayed, the GI&S was hosting a class reunion and a wedding, both announced on an LCD marquee in the lobby. It seems to cater to small events in its various event spaces. However, in spite of the events, our room was dark and quiet for sleeping. No loud noises or partying was ever heard.

The A/C in our room worked well and the free breakfast the following morning - for which you're given a voucher at check-in - was decent, too. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. Tips aren't included in your 'Free' breakfast, so be nice!

Overall, the Groton Inn & Suites is adequate for what it is: simple, overnight accommodations. Luxury isn't what comes to mind, when you're there. I wouldn't purposefully go for any sort of extended stay, or to feel like I'm on vacation. There are plenty of nicer places to go do that at. But if you're on a road trip and hoping to visit the sites, while saving money on a room you'll only need to sleep in, this is your place.

Happy Trails!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We appreciate your taking time to write and review the details of your stay with us. I am glad we were functional and met your needs. A longer stay with us may be enjoyable as well in a full apartment in the exterior buildings. It gives you even more space for a vacation stay of one week. You mentioned a number of our services, I hope you were able to take advantange of our various attraction ticket discounts as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings p
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I never write reviews. I felt the need to after our stay at the Groton inn. It began truly right at the beginning of our stay, when the walk into the lobby smelt like the bar I used to clean in college. Dank and disgusting, like old beer and ciggarettes. I even commented to the staff, and they said it was because it was "humid". Then the stairway to our room smelt like the walls were covered and lathered with foul smelling air refresheners. Our room, we got the 2 bedroom suite. The second room that our daughter was staying in smelt of stale, dank air. The ac did not work, and after two complaints, someone came and then told me they don't need that air conditioner so it doesn't work. All two bedroom suites apparently only need one air conditioner in 1 room. Makes no sense. The breakfast was the most foul breakfast I have ever eaten, disgusting drenched in geese pancakes served by our greesy neck to face tattooed waitress.
Needless to say, overpriced, outdated, bring your plastic sheets and your own food and enter at your won risk. Do yourself a favor, find another hotel.

Room Tip: Don't do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
I apologize your experience at the hotel did not meet your expectations for a good stay! Your two bedroom apartment has A/C in the living room and the Master Bedroom. The 2nd bedroom that opens to the living room area was reviewed in an engery audit and does not need a third A/C unit for the size of the unit. I did not realize any units still had the unit mounted in that second room. Sorry for the communication in explaining that from the staff. I always want your meal to be prepared as you wish, so do not hesitate to send it back if it is not to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Groton Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groton Inn and Suites

Address: 99 Gold Star Hwy, Groton, CT 06340
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Groton Inn and Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service hotel with traditional rooms, suites and full apartments. Complimentary full served hot breakfast of choice and free wifi.Lounge and restaurant serving 7 days a week-continously breakfast thru dinner. Weekend lobster specials and early bird dinner specials. Wifi complimentary. Only 5 minutes from Mystic and close to Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino, and U.S. Submarine Base Groton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Groton Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groton Hotel Groton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Groton Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.