We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight for casino tried to save money on hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Bridge St., Groton, CT 06340 (Formerly Knights Inn Groton/Mystic Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overnight for casino tried to save money on hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

As you can see from other reviews I tend to go to Mohegan Sun in CT and stay at various hotels. This trip I figured try to find a cheaper hotel as all you really need when traveling alone is a shower bed and TV. Rodeway Inn satisfied those needs but not sure it was worth the savings over some other places maybe 30 bucks more

First got the room for 50 dollars so cant complain about the price.

Upon arrival no one at the desk but I heard talking in the back so I called and they came the guy was very nice and quick/easy checkin.
Drove to the room and pulled up in front of door yes its an Inn so doors open to outside. Walked in and very big room however there was a little odor (I sprayed my Axe body srpay but thought maybe if I stay again bring a scented candle:))
Unpacking I brought things into bathroom where unfortunately I saw the ring in the bathtub (see pic). Again I was traveling alone so able to see beyond but ideally they should have done a spot check of the room to make sure cleaned.
So took shower got ready, room was on first floor so basically walking on thin carpet over concrete slab.
Went out for the evening. When I came back got ready for bed. Again musty smell in room sprayed, got in bed sheets also had a musty smell sprayed.
Set up my computer but internet was a bit slow so took tylenol PM and went to sleep.
Oh yeah the TV had tons of channels so would have been nice to have a channel lineup. It was a nice mounted flatscreen.
Got up next morning and checked out.

SO again overall not the best but again its was 50 dollars. Not sure I would stay again likely would go back to QUality Inn across the way which was like 30 dollars more and it had pool and breakfast, both i doubt id use. So in a pinch id maybe try again so would recommend to those that arent too picky and ok with saving a few dollars to spend elsewhere.

The manager did mention they are doing renovations when I checked in so maybe will improve.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Groton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

nothing fancy but a good place to stay. Clean, friendly and very easy to work with.we would for sure stay again. vary accommodating. Hot water in the shower, over all we Loved our stay. Easy to find and many restaurants near buy.
Only a few miles from the casino's

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

This motel has a terrific location right off the interstate and convenient to attractions in the area. We spent 3 nights and found the staff friendly and extremely helpful. They gave us great recommendations for local eating places. The room was clean with a comfortable bed and pillows. There was a refrigerator so we could keep drinks and food. We would definitely recommend this place for a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Upper level has less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Really cheap & really clean--stayed overnight for a trip to Mohegan, unfortunately we could not get a cab to the casino due to a big concert, but the drive was really easy and all highway. This is definitely a no frills motel, but it served its purpose of a place to sleep & shower. There are mini-fridges and microwaves, as well as flat screen tv in each room. It was quiet & the staff was very nice, I would stay here again for future casino trips.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Very clean and comfortable. Stayed 4 nights. Looking for a great hotel for a reasonable price and we found it! Staff very friendly. Room was cleaned in a timely manner and looked great. A no frills hotel that suited our needs perfectly.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

If every hotel were a 5-star, many of us would have no place to stay. Many travelers and many occasions require only the basics. In the no frills niche in which it serves, The Groton Rodeway Inn is a top performer. This was our second stay at this facility.

There are no inside corridors. All rooms open to the outside.

There is an area off the lobby for self-serve beverages that are included in the price of the room.

The king-bed room contains an alarm clock, two end tables, a dresser, a table with two chairs, a fridge, a microwave, a wall-mounted HD TV. There is empty space where there is room for a desk and an easy chair. My theory is that they were removed when the rooms were refurbished, were not replaced, and the saving is reflected in the room rate. Wireless internet is included in the price, but we didn’t use it so I can’t comment on it.

POSITIVES:

The staff is courteous, pleasant, and helpful.

The rooms have been refurbished and are SPOTLESSLY clean [passing the wife-test on both visits].

The rooms are not small. A couple can move around without bumping into each other.

There is ample closet space.

There are plenty of electrical sockets.

The heater works well.

The lighting in the room is satisfactory.

Bed-comfort is, of course, a matter of personal taste -- one person’s great night’s sleep is another person’s sleepless night -- but we found the bed and pillows comfortable and sleep-inducing.

The bathroom contains all new fixtures.

The hot water is consistent.

The shower stream is steady and forceful.


NEGATIVES:

It’s a two-floor hotel and there are no elevators. The stairs are steep.

The room contains only one mirror. It’s located in the bathroom and it’s not full-length.

The bathroom contains no counter space. This feature can be annoying to guests who prefer to have their toiletries ready for immediate use.

The towels are not soft, fluffy, and luxurious, but they do the job.

SUMMARY:

A spotlessly clean, economical place to sleep and prepare for the day.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonsville, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Stayed here from September 17 thru the 20th, as my son was graduating Submarine school in the Navy. The stay was plesent ,the staff extemely nice and helpful , the room was clean and the maids did an outstanding job keeping it clean daily. The hotel is close to alot of attractoins in the area and just a 5 min drive to the Navy Base. I will be trvelling back to Groton ,CT this coming weekend October 3 to take my son back to the Navy Base and have already reserved a room here and the best place to eat in Groton is right down the street - Pauls Pasta!!.....The place can not be beat for the price!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 425 Bridge St., Groton, CT 06340 (Formerly Knights Inn Groton/Mystic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Groton
Groton Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.