We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad, and the ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 Rt 12, Groton, CT 06340   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Groton
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The good, the bad, and the ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My family and I stayed at this motel in early November 2013 on a personal trip to visit relatives in the area.

First, the good: The staff is very friendly and helpful. Everyone had a pleasing personality, and seemed to be genuinely interested in assisting. The breakfast buffet in the attached Irish restaurant was included in our rate. The buffet was more than adequate, and included scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, French toast, pastries, limited fruit, cereal, milk, orange juice, and a hot beverage of your choice. The rooms and decor were about what one would expect in a property of this age and price. Nothing outstanding nor anything terrible.

The bad: My wife and daughter both complained of the mattress on the bed. It seemed to have been well-used and probably was beyond the point of needing replaced.

Finally, the ugly: The fitness center at this motel was the worst I've seen in a long time. It had three pieces of equipment: treadmill, recumbent bike, and elliptical. NONE of these worked properly, and were probably hazardous to one's health. The bike and elliptical were terribly rusted. All needed to be replaced immediately, and the replacements put on a rigorous maintenance program to ensure continued serviceability. There were also an indoor pool, whirlpool, and two saunas. Given the deplorable condition of the exercise equipment, I was, frankly, afraid to use any of these amenities, fearing their cleanliness or lack thereof.

I chose this motel because it was the closest to my relative's home. While in the area, I discovered other options which I will most likely use on my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    31
    11
    9
See reviews for
35
55
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel has the most wonderful staff . The amenities are good, the rooms are spacious, clean , nicely appointed and comfortable. The staff goes out of their way to be accomodating for you. This hotel is conveniently located, has a water park for youngsters, and a great restaurant. The only thing it lacks, is the free breakfast that many Best Western hotels offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Every time we stay here we have a great time. Everyone is friendly and helpful (including the shuttle drivers that bend over backwards to accommodate) Love the Irish Restaurant/Bar & Grill; including their great Breakfast Buffet that is included with room. In addition of clean rooms they have WiFi throughout the hotel. You can also request extended hour for checkout.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday since the casino was fully booked. The room was clean and had no funky odors. The a/c wasn't working when we first arrived and the were very quick to have someone up to fix it. The hotel was quiet and the front desk was fast and friendly. The pool left a lot to be desired. Not sure if they clean it daily or weekly. The free breakfast buffet was ok. Typical buffet foods like scrambled eggs, French toast, muffins etc. Food was ok but the servers all seemed like the customers were keeping them from doing whatever else they had in mind. Overall I would stay there again but would have no expectation of utilizing the pool!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Room was a good size and appeared clean. We seen roaches crawling in the room, so had to take luggage to car to make sure we didn't bring any home. Linens on the bed had holes in them as well as shower curtain. Bed was comfortable, but was able to hear people talking in the adjoining room. Check in and out was very easy and the food at Flanagans was very good. Price was a little high in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our night's stay got off to a bad start, the man at the front desk was extremely uninterested in his guests.
Next door's "wimmins" sex life was EXTREMELY LOUD, until well after midnight. DREADFUL.

The restaurant evening server was MORONIC, without ANY personality AT ALL.

If the staff had been helpful and pleasant and the hotel walls thicker, the stay would have been of normal Best Western standards.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Best Western Olympic Inn is close to Mohegan Sun Casino and offers a free shuttle there on Friday and Saturday nights. This is quite convenient if you like to party, but not drive back to your hotel afterward...and Carlos, the driver, is very nice. As for the hotel itself, it is quiet, clean and comfortable. The staff is very accommodating and helpful and the price is reasonable. It also has a great pool, sauna, and hot tub. It also offers a business center with free computer access. I will stay here again the next time there is an event at Mohegan Sun Casino.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Address: 360 Rt 12, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olympic Hotel Groton
Best Western Groton
Groton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.