We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 Rt 12, Groton, CT 06340   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Price and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We needed a hotel for one night. We got a reasonable internet rate. Granted, this is not a luxury resort; but, had all we needed for one night.

Front desk gal was very nice and helpful. Called down from room asking for a cab. She took care of it and called with an estimated time. She always would speak when we walked by. no problems with check in or check out.

The room was very basic. It did have a small refridge and microwave...nice!!! Plenty of water pressure in the shower. Room was clean and quiet. No complaints.

Location was perfect for where we needed to go. Easy access to restaurants, shops and local attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    58
    48
    19
    11
See reviews for
53
81
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great location...Very close to highways, gas station, stores, restaurants. 2 minutes from New London and 5 minutes from Mystic. The exterior is simple and neat. Parking was free. There was no one at the front desk upon arrival but there was a plastic doorbell affixed to a block of wood on the counter with a sign to push the button for service. We thought it was unprofessional, but we rang and someone appeared in 5 minutes. He was very pleasant. We requested a map of the area, but there were none available. There were slightly burned cookies available on a side table.
The room was large enough, tidy, had a nice flatscreen TV and WiFi. We checked for bedbugs and saw no signs...that was of critical importance! (We also checked www.bedbugregistry.com and there were no reports). The sheets were clean and the bed was comfortable. I used Lysol wipes on the remote, phone and doorknobs which were filthy. The heating/air unit was old and loud, but it worked. The rug in front of the mini fridge was sticky and spongy...yuck! (Did not use the fridge or coffee maker.) The bathroom knob was coming loose, but it did lock. The bathroom ceiling had mold and the laminate countertop was worn and chipped. There are minimal supplies. You'll need to request more if you are traveling with company. Oddly, the tissues were secured to the wall in the bathroom. One would need to get out of bed in the middle of the night for a tissue.
The complimentary breakfast was a buffet in the attached restaurant. A harried waitress brought coffee and juice. She brought me the wrong beverage and spilled it on me but I didn't say anything. She was overheard talking about how overly burdened she was. We could've served ourselves drinks, and it would have been faster and more pleasant. The food and the selection was disappointing. Overall, I'd say the hotel is basic, could be cleaner, and a bit overpriced for the amenities and area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I were pleased with our stay and would definitely recommend this location for anyone looking for a place to stay in Groton, CT. We were pleased to know that the shuttle service to the casino was extended to include Sunday of the holiday weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, USA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We decided last minute to take a trip to Mystic. This hotel was reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area, however still a little pricey in comparison to other hotels I've stayed in in similar tourist areas.

The room was clean and quiet from outside noise. The people at the front were very nice and helpful. The pool was nice sized and clean (bring your room towels, none offered at the pool). The free breakfast in the restaurant was small compared to others I've been too. Just eggs, bacon, sausage patties, frozen french toast and toast and cereal.

The beds were really firm, but the pillows super soft.

There were some mechanical things that maybe need to be fixed up. Anything mechanical was VERY noisy. The AC worked well, but was so noisy. The toilet was noisy as well. The doors creaked. The elevator sounded like it was dying.

But really, for an overnight stay, it was good. As long as it's clean, I'm happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Exterior was great, check in staff superb. Very friendly, we selected this hotel as part of the Harley-Davidson partnership. First hotel that's ever offered the opportunity to wash our motorcycles at check in without us asking first - "we get the hoses and towels ready, wash area is to the left of the lobby".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phippsburg, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. My family and I have stayed here many times over the past few years. I even go out of my way, if in Connecticut, to stay here even though some detour may be required. We have always been treated well and fairly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Como, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a Great Experience. Everyone, from the front desk to housekeeping to restaurant staff, were pleasant and helpful. They all seemed like they really liked their jobs. The location is great, close to I95 and to the Naval Submarine base, where our son currently is. I was very happy with the whole experience. My husband thought the beds were a little hard, I thought they were fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
2.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Groton
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#2 of 14 in Groton
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Address: 360 Rt 12, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olympic Hotel Groton
Best Western Groton
Groton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.