We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Good Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 Rt 12, Groton, CT 06340   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Groton
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    42
    31
    11
    9
See reviews for
37
55
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This Hotel Looks Nice From The Outside But the Rooms Are 1980's Circa. I mean Old and ran Down. The Room Had A Bad Smell Like Stale Or Mildew. I Read A lot Of Reviews Before I Came And Didn't think It Would be That Bad, But It Was. The Bathroom Was So Small When I Opened The Door It Just Missed Hitting The Toilet. I was Scared To Sleep On The Bed, But I Had To Since I Was on An Prepaid Trip. All They Need is A Modern Make Over With All New rooms And It Would be Great. Breakfast Could Use Some turkey & Beef Products Since Everyone Doesn't Eat Pork. But The Staff Was Very Awesome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwolympicinn, Owner at BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Tash,


Thank you for your completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future..
Issues of cleanliness are taken seriously; our housekeeping staff has just received an award for a perfect score on our latest inspection from Best Western International. There have been several guests in that room since your stay and they brought up no issues. We have VERY satisfied guests staying 45, 60 nights or more. They love it here, the friendliness of the staff, all the extra amenities at no charges, etc. Perhaps if you had stayed longer, you would've been more satisfied with our property. I'm sorry we didn't leave you with that warm, fuzzy feeling as well.
We would like to inform you of some exciting improvements to our property; In the past two years, we've replaced all wallpaper and most carpets. We are currently installing brand new carpeting in the rest of our rooms and in the process of replacing all our mattress sets, and installing brand new 32" Flat Screen TVs and furniture in all rooms. In our fitness center, new equipment has been added. As a previous guest, we are prepared to keep you coming back by continuously improving our rooms and service to you.

If I can be of any assistance in the future; please don't hesitate to contact me directly regarding discounted room rates or anything at all at 860-445-8000. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Me and my boyfriend were looking for a simple, clean, cheap motel that would be near sightseeing areas. This place had exactly what we were looking for: TV, refrigerator, safe, coffee table, sofa, a pool and a jacuzzi. Best of all it was near the casinos. It's also near a Walmart which made it convenient. We had a nice low maintenance time, and even got a free upgrade for a king size bed. If you're looking for a fancy/romantic atmosphere this might not for you, but if you're looking for a good value place to stay, this is definitely it. Also love the restaurant downstairs, so convenient and had good cheap food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwolympicinn, Owner at BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sue,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We would also like to inform you of some exciting improvements to our property; We are currently installing brand new carpeting in the remaining rooms, in the process of replacing all our mattress sets, and installing brand new 32" Flat Screen TVs in all rooms. In our fitness center, new equipment has been added. As a previous guest, we are genuinely devoted to keep you coming back by continuously improving our product; our rooms and service to you.
If I can be of any assistance in the future; please don't hesitate to contact me directly regarding discounted room rates or anything at all at 860-445-8000. Please mention you are a returning guest. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We recently stayed at this motel because it was chosen by friends for their wedding room block. It was certainly adequate for a brief stay, but the place is otherwise pretty rundown and outdated. The room was clean and spacious, but the bathroom was on the small side. We had a third floor king sized room that was equipped with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The linens were clean. Staff was friendly and polite.

We all had the hot breakfast buffet in the morning and it was perfectly fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Overall not a bad place to stay. Pros: Very nice and helpful staff. Clean bathroom, linens, bedding. Cons: Extremely run down, e.g. cracked whirlpool badly repaired, bathroom sink counter pulling away from the wall, ceiling tiles in pool area had signs of mold and water damage. Every interaction with every member of the staff of this hotel was exceptional – it's unfortunate that the money isn't spent repairing basic problems. It's a decent and clean place to sleep but not worth more than $89 a night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Park, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Enjoyed this place a few years ago, on a long weekend. We chose this location because we were going to the casinos and also to Mystic, so it was a great spot to stay. We had a suite, and it was just what we needed. The beds were comfy and the breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Booked this hotel for a one night stay over the internet. We left with mixed impressions. The building itself looked pretty good from the outside but the rug in the hotel lobby was filthy. Our room was a good size and the linens were good but the small fridge was unpluged so the carpet in front of it was wet, I guess the run off of a defrost. The bathroom was clean but the sink counter had started to pull away from the wall. The combination bar/restaurant was small and the floor could have been cleaner. The hot food at the breakfast buffet was mostly gone when we arrived and there did not seem to be visible effort to get it filled up. The staff was helpful both in the restaurant and at the front desk. The hotel was packed, the parking lot was full and had to drive around to find a space in the rear lot. Did not have a chance to use the pool or hot tub due to time but it looked clean and maintained.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Address: 360 Rt 12, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olympic Hotel Groton
Best Western Groton
Groton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.