We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for overnight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 Rt 12, Groton, CT 06340   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Morris County, NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Okay for overnight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We recently stayed at this motel because it was chosen by friends for their wedding room block. It was certainly adequate for a brief stay, but the place is otherwise pretty rundown and outdated. The room was clean and spacious, but the bathroom was on the small side. We had a third floor king sized room that was equipped with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The linens were clean. Staff was friendly and polite.

We all had the hot breakfast buffet in the morning and it was perfectly fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    56
    44
    17
    11
See reviews for
51
75
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Overall not a bad place to stay. Pros: Very nice and helpful staff. Clean bathroom, linens, bedding. Cons: Extremely run down, e.g. cracked whirlpool badly repaired, bathroom sink counter pulling away from the wall, ceiling tiles in pool area had signs of mold and water damage. Every interaction with every member of the staff of this hotel was exceptional – it's unfortunate that the money isn't spent repairing basic problems. It's a decent and clean place to sleep but not worth more than $89 a night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Park, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Enjoyed this place a few years ago, on a long weekend. We chose this location because we were going to the casinos and also to Mystic, so it was a great spot to stay. We had a suite, and it was just what we needed. The beds were comfy and the breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Booked this hotel for a one night stay over the internet. We left with mixed impressions. The building itself looked pretty good from the outside but the rug in the hotel lobby was filthy. Our room was a good size and the linens were good but the small fridge was unpluged so the carpet in front of it was wet, I guess the run off of a defrost. The bathroom was clean but the sink counter had started to pull away from the wall. The combination bar/restaurant was small and the floor could have been cleaner. The hot food at the breakfast buffet was mostly gone when we arrived and there did not seem to be visible effort to get it filled up. The staff was helpful both in the restaurant and at the front desk. The hotel was packed, the parking lot was full and had to drive around to find a space in the rear lot. Did not have a chance to use the pool or hot tub due to time but it looked clean and maintained.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam County, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We arrived there at around 2 in the morning after going to Mohegan Sun and it took us at least 20 minutes to find the place. When we got there they checked us in right away, and we went to our room. When we got to our room and opened the door, the stench was unbearable! We asked for another room, in which they gave to us, but when we went to go into the room, the door was jammed. We asked for ANOTHER room, and it smelled horrible too and we just gave up! The TV didn't work. The light fixture was falling off, the doorknob to the bathroom was falling off. The light switch in the bathroom was disgustingly old and dirty. The bathroom was dirty. I didn't feel comfortable going under the covers, so I slept on top of the covers. The air conditioner is ugly, old, and dirty. The bed was horrible, it was like a trampoline. Never ever going there again!

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwolympicinn, Owner at BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Tara,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Hotels always face the dilemma when purchasing mattresses of which level of firmness to buy. Some guests prefer a firmer mattress. We’re sorry if this was uncomfortable for you. Issues of cleanliness are taken seriously, our housekeeping staff has just received an award for a perfect score on our latest inspection from Best Western International There have been several guests in that room since your stay and they brought up no issues. We have VERY satisfied guests staying 45, 60 nights or more. They love it here, the friendliness of the staff, all the extra amenities at no charges, etc. Perhaps if you had stayed longer, you would've been more satisfied with our property. I'm sorry we didn't leave you with that warm, fuzzy feeling as well.
We would also like to inform you of some exciting improvements to our property; we now have wireless Internet throughout the hotel, as well as keeping hard-wired modems in the rooms. We are currently installing brand new carpeting and in the process of replacing all our mattress sets, and installing brand new 32" Flat Screen TVs in all rooms. As a previous guest, we are prepared to keep you coming back by continuously improving our rooms and service to you. If I can be of any assistance in the future; please don't hesitate to contact me directly regarding discounted room rates or anything at all at 860-445-8000. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Located not far from Mohegan Sun casino, shopping (Kohl's) just around the corner and access to a number of restaurants and attactions (Mystic aquarium, village, Groton Submarine base).

Swimming Pool and hot tub were welcome at the end of a buy day.

Room Tip: Breakfast was complimentary buffet - plenty to eat and replenished reguarly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwolympicinn, Owner at BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Katherine,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Thanks for your wonderful comments, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are family owned and operated. Nobody cares more than an owner, and an owner will always be on property. We strive to treat each guest like family, we believe this practice of providing outstanding service and superior customer care is what sets us apart from our competitors.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was a pretty nice hotel. It was definitely shabby in some respects, especially in the bathrooms, but it was basically clean. The free breakfast buffet more than made up for that. The only thing I didn't like was that the parking was not well organized-you had to walk pretty far to get a door. Also there was a mild smoke smell in the hallways, but our smoke-free room smelled fine. Nice pool here, too, with good hours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Address: 360 Rt 12, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olympic Hotel Groton
Best Western Groton
Groton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.