We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price..Great Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 Rt 12, Groton, CT 06340   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Groton
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Price..Great Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I happened upon this hotel when I discovered a prior place on the bedbug registry. So needless to say I am very critical when I book this room. I must say that the hotel was absolutely wonderful. The staff was helpful and informative upon check in. The room was clean and had a fresh scent. We discovered the hair dryer didn't work and they replaced it quickly.
We also got to enjoy their very nice pool and hot tub. It was a great treat. They had free shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino which saved us having to worry about driving at the end of a night of play. To top it off the breakfast at the restaurant was very good and included with our stay.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and will be staying again when I want to get to the casino.
Great Place at at Great price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    48
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
41
63
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a weekend getaway to mohegan sun, free shuttle fridays and saturday nights, every hour and easy to get on any shuttle. room was so comfortable! staff was awesome and super friendly. FREE breakfast in an actual restaurant that was delicious! I highly recommend! Bar prices were reasonable!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at this Best Western as an anchor to visit the nearby, fantastic Mystic Seaport, a living history village and museum of 1800s life in a seaport town, which one could probably spend two whole days at in order to take it all in. The motel, just 20 minutes or so down the interstate from Mystic, Connecticut, is in a very peaceful, safe, clean area and comes equipped with a restaurant, Flanagan's, where we were offered an outstanding continental breakfast as part of our motel expense. We also had a dinner at the restaurant and found the food tasty and environment peaceful and enjoyable. The motel room itself was likewise very nice and clean. As an added bonus another forgotten, historic gem from the American Revolution that should be visited, respected and appreciated is the nearby Fort Griswold Battlefield State Park. This is actually off the same exit as the Best Western, and more than well worth the visit. In fact, in today's day and age of forgetting the significance of the very birth of the United States, a trip to Fort Griswold and a lesson of what happened there ought to be way more required than taxes, new government agencies and blind allegiance to political parties that together stomp out the ideals and sacrifices that gave birth to the freedoms now being legislated and accepted away. In fact, think about it, the very existence of TripAdvisor, and the absolute beauty and benefit of freedom of expression and the open forum being so wonderfully provided, was ultimately made possible by the founding fathers in town halls and everyday farmers and citizens on battlefields.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALEM
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have stayed 5 straight nights In Best Western's in the New England states. This one VERY CLEAN....BUT... We were charged more than quoted when we booked five rooms. Gave the owner the name of the booking clerk (Brad) The same clerk told us the hotel was at the
Mohegan Sun Casino. Owner rude, said the clerk didn't quote the wrong rate. Charged more than quoted. WOULD NOT GO BACK!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here for a family wedding in New London. Had requested adjoining rooms, and they were waiting for us when we got there, even though they were not guaranteed to us at initial booking !! Rooms were well equipped, clean, beds were very comfortable. Check out was 12 noon which really surprised us. Usually hotels want you out by 11, so this was an added bonus for us. The breakfast was just wonderful. Had everything we could have wanted, and the kids were happy(nothing else counts !! ) My only complaint would be that it states "heated pool". The pool was clean and big enougfh but COLD !!!!! No way was it heated. The kids braved it but I could not take it so ended up staying out . Would have been a perfect 5 had it been heated, but gave it a 4 as a result. I would however highly recommend this hotel for anyone coming to the New London/Groton area. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I read all the reviews before staying here and was a little worried becuase they were not very good. However, we were headed to Mohegan and this hotel seemed like they had it all for a good price...and they did! No it isn't the BEST hotel room in the area but it is good. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful and accomodating. There was a fridge, micro and coffee maker in the room. Free coffee and cookies around 4pm in the lobby. We took the FREE shuttle to Mohegan there and back it was great, easy on and easy off. About a 15 minute ride through the woods. Our room was clean and average size. The beds were ok and the bath room was clean. Pool area was good, clean and no kids. Elevators were fast and the restarant there was actually VERY good. We ordered dinner there and took it to our room, I even when down and told them how good it was. Breakfast was ok, nothing fancy but filled my belly. My only complaints were it was slightly out dated, there was one large water stain on our room ceiling and the walls were VERY thin. For the price and the breakfast and shuttle I would deffinately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Cty, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is affordable and our room was clean. Close to Mystic and has a shuttle on Friday and Saturday night to Mohegan Sun.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Address: 360 Rt 12, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olympic Hotel Groton
Best Western Groton
Groton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.