We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 Rt 12, Groton, CT 06340   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Durham, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a weekend getaway to mohegan sun, free shuttle fridays and saturday nights, every hour and easy to get on any shuttle. room was so comfortable! staff was awesome and super friendly. FREE breakfast in an actual restaurant that was delicious! I highly recommend! Bar prices were reasonable!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    57
    47
    17
    11
See reviews for
51
79
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SW Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at this Best Western as an anchor to visit the nearby, fantastic Mystic Seaport, a living history village and museum of 1800s life in a seaport town, which one could probably spend two whole days at in order to take it all in. The motel, just 20 minutes or so down the interstate from Mystic, Connecticut, is in a very peaceful, safe, clean area and comes equipped with a restaurant, Flanagan's, where we were offered an outstanding continental breakfast as part of our motel expense. We also had a dinner at the restaurant and found the food tasty and environment peaceful and enjoyable. The motel room itself was likewise very nice and clean. As an added bonus another forgotten, historic gem from the American Revolution that should be visited, respected and appreciated is the nearby Fort Griswold Battlefield State Park. This is actually off the same exit as the Best Western, and more than well worth the visit. In fact, in today's day and age of forgetting the significance of the very birth of the United States, a trip to Fort Griswold and a lesson of what happened there ought to be way more required than taxes, new government agencies and blind allegiance to political parties that together stomp out the ideals and sacrifices that gave birth to the freedoms now being legislated and accepted away. In fact, think about it, the very existence of TripAdvisor, and the absolute beauty and benefit of freedom of expression and the open forum being so wonderfully provided, was ultimately made possible by the founding fathers in town halls and everyday farmers and citizens on battlefields.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALEM
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have stayed 5 straight nights In Best Western's in the New England states. This one VERY CLEAN....BUT... We were charged more than quoted when we booked five rooms. Gave the owner the name of the booking clerk (Brad) The same clerk told us the hotel was at the
Mohegan Sun Casino. Owner rude, said the clerk didn't quote the wrong rate. Charged more than quoted. WOULD NOT GO BACK!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here for a family wedding in New London. Had requested adjoining rooms, and they were waiting for us when we got there, even though they were not guaranteed to us at initial booking !! Rooms were well equipped, clean, beds were very comfortable. Check out was 12 noon which really surprised us. Usually hotels want you out by 11, so this was an added bonus for us. The breakfast was just wonderful. Had everything we could have wanted, and the kids were happy(nothing else counts !! ) My only complaint would be that it states "heated pool". The pool was clean and big enougfh but COLD !!!!! No way was it heated. The kids braved it but I could not take it so ended up staying out . Would have been a perfect 5 had it been heated, but gave it a 4 as a result. I would however highly recommend this hotel for anyone coming to the New London/Groton area. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I read all the reviews before staying here and was a little worried becuase they were not very good. However, we were headed to Mohegan and this hotel seemed like they had it all for a good price...and they did! No it isn't the BEST hotel room in the area but it is good. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful and accomodating. There was a fridge, micro and coffee maker in the room. Free coffee and cookies around 4pm in the lobby. We took the FREE shuttle to Mohegan there and back it was great, easy on and easy off. About a 15 minute ride through the woods. Our room was clean and average size. The beds were ok and the bath room was clean. Pool area was good, clean and no kids. Elevators were fast and the restarant there was actually VERY good. We ordered dinner there and took it to our room, I even when down and told them how good it was. Breakfast was ok, nothing fancy but filled my belly. My only complaints were it was slightly out dated, there was one large water stain on our room ceiling and the walls were VERY thin. For the price and the breakfast and shuttle I would deffinately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Cty, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is affordable and our room was clean. Close to Mystic and has a shuttle on Friday and Saturday night to Mohegan Sun.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is a great hotel for the money. We saw Bob Seger at Mohegan, but the cost of a room there was off the charts. Shuttle arrived on time on both ends, room was clean, front desk staff helpful, comfy beds. What else do you need?????

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwolympicinn, Owner at BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay at our property and we sure appreciate your nice review.
We hope you enjoyed the Bob Seger Show.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We are delighted you were happy with the accommodations and service here at the Best Western Olympic Inn. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write the review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Address: 360 Rt 12, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olympic Hotel Groton
Best Western Groton
Groton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.