We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the drive, the wait, your money or calories!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Costello's Clam Shack

Costello's Clam Shack
145 Pearl St, Groton, CT 06340-5773
860-572-2779
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 103 Restaurants in Groton
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
“Not worth the drive, the wait, your money or calories!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Visited around 6pm on Sunday Labor Day Weekend for dinner. Parking was poor because everyone was parking in the Costello's lot to go over to Abbott's which is where I should have went to begin with. Chowder was all broth. Portions of fried clams strips and whole bellies were lame. We did get about 10 pounds of french fries we could have done without. My sons chicken strips were over cooked. The slaw tasted funny and the lemonade was watered down. Waste of $50 bucks. Will never vist costello's again. Go to Bill's Seafood in Westbrook. Better all around!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    30
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Ate there on Sunday 8/29/2010. They were...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010 via mobile

Ate there on Sunday 8/29/2010. They were out of a few items like steamers and scallops , which on a Sunday evening, was understandable. Our group of 5 ordered whole belly clams, fish and chips , clam strips, Calamari , and crab cakes.- ALL of the food was horrible . The fish was all breading soaked with grease and Soggy grease and oil. The fries were cold and greasy and overcooked. The Calamari was the worst any of us ever had and the crab cakes resembled fried mayonnaise. Toward the end of our meal, we found a large dead black fly in the cole slaw . I brought it to the counter , showed them the cole slaw with fly and was asked if I wanted another serving . A staff member then refunded the price of one of our meals which was a nice effort . The food could be so much better - with a little effort. Please hire a quality control person to supervise your food service so you can have something to be proud of other than the view.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Keep away from Costello’s Clam Shack !! Go to Mystic you will find better places.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We went to Costello’s Clam shack on Sunday July 18, 2010. Never been there before and NEVER will again !! We wanted a side order of Whole Belly Fried Clams and a side order of Fried Oysters and 2 cups of Clam Chowder. They said we don’t sell side orders of Clams and we don’t have Oysters, all we have are dinners. Hmmm we don’t sell side orders? Well you do have to put Clams in with the French Fries right? You just don’t cook them together. So why not sell side orders? So we decided to get 2 dinners of Clams and 2 cups of Chowder. What a mistake that was !! Got back to the car and opened up the chowder and started to eat it, it was more like onion soup with 3 or 4 pieces of clams in it. Next we opened up the clam dinners and said where are the clams? It was about 80% skinny little French fries and 20% whole fried clams. The bellies on the clams were so small they looked like clams suffering from anorexia. This so-called food cost $45.47 and you go away hungry or tired of eating mostly French fries, glad we had our Yellow Lab who loves French fries with us. How do the owner’s sleep at night knowing how they rip people off. The other reviewers liked the view and the atmosphere ha-ha your paying for it. Just go to Mystic, Stonington and so on, you see boats, water, and seagulls. Just get your side orders elsewhere and park near the water and eat, and the view is free.

Jim & Cheryl

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Here is where you'll find the fried food Abbott's didn't have. Clams and shrimp are good. I find the prices are more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Here is where you'll find the fried food Abbott's didn't have. Clams and shrimp are good. I find the prices are more than usual but the view is great here too. Watch out where you sit though. Best spots to sit are outside the deck or on the upper deck. If you sit under the upper deck watch out for spills from above!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Best view in Mystic. Typical fried fare.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

Best view in Mystic. Typical fried fare.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costello's Clam Shack also viewed

 

Been to Costello's Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costello's Clam Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.