We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirch Masala Cuisine of India

Mirch Masala Cuisine of India
156 Kings Highway, Groton, CT 06340 (Formerly G Williker's Table & Tap)
+1 860-445-8043
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 106 Restaurants in Groton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Waterford, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Indian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I love this type of food, and my evening meal was delicious. The dining experience met all of my expectations.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great food in an easy to get to location! The staff is friendly and knowledgable. It is definitely the best Indian restaurant In the area!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Just off I95 and attached to a Ramada, don't judge a book by its cover. Delicious authentic dishes, friendly polite and attentive service, convenient and clean. I will definitely eat here again. Excellent appetizers, and Tikka Masala and Chicken Saag

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Arrogant!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We ordered an appetizer and separate entrees. The evening started out well until my entree arrived. I ordered the Vegetable Jelfrezie. It was incredibly sweet. It was terribly off-putting because the waiter asked how spicy I wanted it. I mentioned this to the waiter. He acknowledged my concern and left my table. Moments later, the proprietor came over and declared "that's the way this dish is made. It's a sweet and sour dish. Next time, you should not order the dish if you don't like it sweet. In essence, she blamed ME for ordering the dish!! Just to see, we checked various online sites and could find NO Jelfrezie recipe that called for added sugar. I explained that her menu does not indicate "sweet and sour" just degrees of spicy. She gave a rude response to a seemingly innocuous observation. We've patronized the restaurant before and had a marginal experience. I won't give this place a third bite at my wallet.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I have ever eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband had a business trip to Groton, Connecticut, and I went along for the ride. Mirch Masala was the restaurant located in our hotel. We ate there one night when we were too tired to go out and LOVED the food! Indeed, we loved it so much that we ate food from that restaurant a couple more times on that trip! I met the owner of the restaurant and promised him that I would review his restaurant online because I loved the food so much. A bonus is also that we could order the food as carry-out and eat in our room! Really nice option at the end of the day. . .

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirch Masala Cuisine of India also viewed

 

Been to Mirch Masala Cuisine of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirch Masala Cuisine of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.