We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Mexican restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ortega's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ortega's Restaurant
108 North St, Groton, CT 06340
(860) 405-1275
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 106 Restaurants in Groton
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
MYSTIC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Mexican restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have been going here for years. Great food at affordable prices. The owners and the staff are the best! Such nice people and very hard working too. I always get the "dos enchilada" plate. Best flan ever!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Solid. Reliable. Been coming for years.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Chicken fajitas with a little fresh lime always hits the spot. Big portions. Friendly service. Lots of locals frequent it. Easy parking. Most recent visit a bit chilly inside as front door kept opening.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK Mexican Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

OK, We are not experts, but the food and service was surely OK and reasonable priced. We had both fajitas chicken/meat and they tased both good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard,CT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Follow up review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Have been eatting here for many years. The last 2 visits have been less than appealing. Service ok. Food cold. The rice was dried out. Like it had been sitting. Couple tables around complained as well. Not sure why the lack of effort in kitchen but it's not the same place I have recommended. I don't mind the aospher being worn out if the food is good. It wasn't. Sad to say may not visiting again.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth all the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This restaurant is not worth all of the likeness of people.It was dirty, outdated, and the service was horrible. Reasonably priced, and some may like it, but most of the food is bland, and someone I know got food poisoning... never good! Some may like it, I just didn't.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortega's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ortega's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ortega's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.