We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want waves don't go here!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern Point Beach

Eastern Point Beach
Beach Pond Road, Groton, CT
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Groton
Attraction details
Bloomfield, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you want waves don't go here!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I saw the reviews on this site and thought that this would be a nice beach. But when we got there we had already paid and we saw that there was no waves and we really wanted to go body boarding. So my mom asked for a refund and the lady wouldn't give us a refund when we didn't even go in the water or anything!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great beach for kids ages 2-10”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This more more of a cove than a true beach with waves. The sand is soft and the beach is clean. There is a playground right behind the beach area that includes basketball courts. Great place for kids to explore the beach without fear of crashing waves or riptide. The snack bar has some of the cheapest prices I have ever seen. Hot dogs for $1.50. Parking for the day runs between $10 and $20 depending on day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
230 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“small and quiet beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

A nice place to spend a few quiet hours by yourself or with your family. It is usually not over crowded. There is a small food stand there also.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The last time I was there I was impressed with how quiet and peaceful it is. You can sit or lie on the sand , sit on the rocks or go under the shelter. The view of New London light house and out into Long Island Sound is gorgeous.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is really a small beach for locals. A little playground is there as well. Not a place that you go out of your way to visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eastern Point Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern Point Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.