We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Diner Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shack Restraunt

The Shack Restraunt
441 Long Hill Rd, Groton, CT 06340
(860) 445-5500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 102 restaurants in Groton
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
VT
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Diner Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a good spot for standard breakfast fare. Open early, conveniently located, clean and quick efficient service. Home fries were very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    8
    8
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The best place for breakfast in Groton. The service is pretty good. They server lunch and dinner entrees, but I've only had the breakfast. Food is fresh, and hot off the grill.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sunday is breakfast only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Place was decent, dissappointed that they only served breakfast all day on Sunday. Food was ok, heck it was breakfast. Bus person, Jason was the friendliess of the entire staff. They could all learn from him

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMMOND
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Great Dinner & PIE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This place was recommended to us by the ladies working at the Submarine Museum Gift Shop. The menu was extensive but we went with one of the specials "Grilled Scallops with Rice Pilaf". We also had a bowl of Clam Chowder and Corn Chowder since it was cool and damp that day.
The food was delicious! Then we decided to split Toll House Pie with ice cream which was warm, gooey & fantastic! The place was easy to find from the Sub Base and easy to get back to the Quality Inn. I would recommend this place to other tourists - you can always go to Applebee's at home, but when traveling, I like to enjoy locally owned restaurants and eat food I do not make at home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Saturday at the Shack”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My son in law and daughter like going to the Shack for a quick bite. The place was booming at 1:00 pm and both breakfast and lunch were being offered. The wait staff was efficient and pleasant and took care of a few special needs for our grandaughter first. It is a diner and we got diner fare - reasonable prices, reasonable quality with a large portion of food. My wife liked the Taco Salad with chicken, The clam chowder was OK, my grandaughter liked her kids sized cheese burger. A quick afternoon lunch was easily accomplished-nothing great but certainly OK.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack Restraunt also viewed

 

Been to The Shack Restraunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shack Restraunt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.