We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Was 1PM So, I Had Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Groton Townhouse Restaurant

Groton Townhouse Restaurant
355 Route 12, Groton, CT
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 104 Restaurants in Groton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Bronx NYC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“It Was 1PM So, I Had Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Real quick, after visiting the nearby Submarine Museum I stopped here with my Nephew for a quick bite to eat. I was seated quickly and my server Barbara couldn't have been nicer. We both ordered breakfast and the food was decent, the coffee was good and most of all I didn't have to wait long for it be cooked and delivered to my table.
Being from NY I eat in my share of diners. This place is spacious and clean. I figure how can you mess up breakfast? I'm glad they didn't.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    13
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

It's one of the only 24hr resturants around. Having that said, you walk in and instantly get the trucker stop feeling. The owner is always standing around. And depending on who you get for a server, they are either extremely nice or extremely rude. They have a lot, and I mean A LOT of things happening in the menu. Way too busy of a menu. A CHEFF RAMSEY nightmare. Lol and don't forget about the specials. Oh yes, they have plenty of those in the menu. I'm surprised they don't have a special for a special haha. I've went there a handful of times because it is one of the only 24hr places around. And have been both satisfied and dissatisfied with the food and service. I've ordered a meal one time it was good and the next time it was missing things that it had on it the last time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

perfect place for breakfast.They also serve lunch,dinner and late night food.
I love their breakfast and their NY cheesecake.
I have stopped by many times.Good service,big portions and cheap price!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BAD SERVICE AND FOOD IS NOT GOOD!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My husband and I ate here and what a mistake that was. Didnt get a waitress until after 15 minutes of sitting and had to go up to cashier to get one. Once the food came out...it was cold and bland...no taste and the service was just horrible. Seen insects on the carpets and the staff was not surprised at all. Save your money and time. Just not worth it at all! Will definitely not return even if it was the only place I had to choose from!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Unfriendly Staff!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was meeting a person there to discuss business over breakfast and while me and one other person were standing in the front of the restaurant waiting on another person to get there, we were starting to discuss a few things and the girl at the register told us that we needed to go sit at a table or go outside that people did not want to see us standing there as they came into the restaurant. We decided at that time that we would go somewhere else and have our breakfast and meeting. VERY RUDE!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Groton Townhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Groton Townhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Groton Townhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.