We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy To Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Groton Townhouse Restaurant

Groton Townhouse Restaurant
355 Route 12, Groton, CT
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 106 Restaurants in Groton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
NH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Easy To Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went here for New Years eve as it was located on Route 12, on our way to the casinos. The dinner specials included everything, and there were many options to choose from. The food was very good, and the deserts were even better. They must have a great baker! We want to come back to try out the breakfasts. Next time!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    15
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Open 24/7; widest menu offerings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Easy to find. About 1.5 miles north of I-95 on CT 12 (on L). Well-tended property, quick, attentive service, well-prepared dishes, moderately-priced. About 4 miles south of Nautilus Sub Museum,
about 9 miles from Mohegan Sun. 10% discount offered if you show motel room key.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went there for breakfast and service was very good, food came out within 5-10 minutes. Portion size was very good. Bacon had a different taste to it, not sure what but did not get sick. The people were friendly. It is definately a local place. The blueberry pancake had alot of blueberries. Wife had an omlet which was huge and only finished half. We might go back again, if in the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Better than Average, and what a menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We arrived late Thursday night in town and hungry. Most of the other restaurants had closed (after 10PM) but not the Townhouse. Our front desk clerk at our Motel recommended them (24 hours) and said we wouldn't believe the menu. He was right - it must have been 12 pages long. They had a great variety of things to pick from including some we'd never seen in New England. After our order was placed, we only had a short wait and our hostess made us feel like she really cared we were there. Good portions, and very reasonable pricing. Definitely one we'd go back to the next time we're in Groton.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's a good diner, but still a diner.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

You want breakfast 24 hours, or a steak at 7AM, this is the place for you. Good (what I call Greasy Greek) diner food... and it IS good food, decently priced and you get a good portion of it. Service is OK, nothing to celebrate, but certainly up to any diner I've patronized. Makes sense it's just up the road from the USNS and near the USCG Academy... hair is conspicuous in it's absence.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Groton Townhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Groton Townhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Groton Townhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.