We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a picnic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avery Point Light

Avery Point Light
Groton, CT
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Groton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Attractively styled lighthouse which was in operation from 1944 to 1967.
NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place for a picnic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family decided to have a picnic on the grounds here one evening, and were so happy we did. While you cannot access the lighthouse, it is beautiful, and the view from there is wonderful. Best of all, there is a path from the lighthouse to the parking lots that is dotted with sculptures, including a series of sculptures that each had a poem and a door that you could open up to find a pen/pencil and notepad where you could write your own poem and comments. My 6yo daughter LOVED writing in each one of them. There are also rocks that are fairly easy to climb down to get to the water, and you can see the New London Ledge lighthouse out in the water too.

We parked in parking lot D and walked up to big steps to the right to get to the lighthouse; the sculpture path leads you away from the parking lot, so perhaps parking lot C might be a better place to park?? Not sure..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selinsgrove
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Day in Groton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

After finally finding the New London Lighthouse, we decided to also visit Avery Point. Parking was great, and it was just a short walk to the path that led to the lighthouse. We had a great view of the New London Ledge LIghthouse as well. What a beautiful spot to just sit and watch sailboats, and fishermen. We enjoyed the poetry that was spread throughout the path as well. Definitely a must see spot for the LIghthouse enthusiast, as you get a 3 for one special.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“pretty views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

drove to check out the historic lighthouse - was somewhat disappointed when you could not really drive up near it - very pretty area though and if it were a nice day would have attempted to find parking and walk around

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Worth it for lighthouse enthusiasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Unfortunately I have been a couple times and just thought it was closed, but it is in fact not open to the public. Maybe someday they can address this because I'm sure a lot of people would like to go inside. Grounds are spectacular, and there is an absolutely fantastic little restaurant called "Fins" on the site which is run by the college kids. Quality and selection is very good and prices are almost ridiculously low.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very nice location, worth the travel to view the Point. On the grounds of the University of Conn. Parking is easy, and a very nice foot trail around the point.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avery Point Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avery Point Light, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.