We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your survey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - Groton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn - Groton to your Saves list
Hampton Inn - Groton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Long Hill Rd, Groton, CT 06340   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now, save 15%
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Muscatine, Iowa
2 reviews
“Your survey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Good people providing a very good service at a reasonable price for your area. I wish that you would initially bill for the same price as the confirmation. The facility and staff were very, very good. I am not able to find enough words to complete this 200 word minimum. Do you have facilities in Iowa/Illinois that would qualify us for any future discount programs that are offered by your company? Thanks to all of you for your you excellent help. We will consider your facilities in the future when we travel east again. I hope that I am close to the 200 word minimum now. Thank you to all of you. Bob

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    102
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
103
77
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel was very nice and offered a free breakfast. BUT very disappointed to arrive and find out our room did not accommodate a family of 5 after making this clear when booking online with a 3rd party company. When booking online I chatted with a rep. who had me wait to check with hotel. He told me he talked to a person (he gave me the name) from the hotel who said it was fine and there would be a roll away bed in the room. When arriving the girl at the desk said that person would not have given the ok because only 4 people allowed in one room due to coding. She then proceeded to give me my keys and let me have the room. Seriously! At this point after being on the road 7 hrs we were ready to relax and did not question it any further. So we made a comfy bed on the floor with a fluffy duvet and a blanket for our youngest child. We had the feeling they really did not care, they had the room booked for the night and that was what mattered. So basically someone was not being honest. The hotel was nice but honesty means much more to us so therefore I would not book a room through the online site or this hotel in the near future. Called Hampton Inn corporate office today and explained that I understand I booked it through a 3rd party online site but they might have some unhappy customers like me who were promised something they are not given such as a bed! They too did not really seem to care because their reply was they had no control over what the third party person tells the customer, which I totally understand. Instead they could have said thank you for bringing this to our attention and we can look into this further.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Safe, clean hotel.. Very hard working staff. Just drop the price.. Use your AAA card for a few bucks off.. I don' like that your telling me that I have to write 200 characters.. The hotel is very good what more to say J OFF..........

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I generally like Hampton Inn: good internet service, predictable room quality, and the complimentary breakfast. At this particular location, the pool was horrible (freezing cold water, which seemed dirty with a sediment on the bottom). The carpet in the room had very noticeable stains and I found a black hair on the supposedly clean sheets. Not attractive. When I put that out of my mind, the rest was acceptable. But if I return to the area, it won't be to this hotel, but I will still consider Hampton Inn in general (my other experiences with the chain were much better).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel's staff is very welcoming & friendly. The proximity to New London & to Mystic is perfect. Rooms very nice with refrigerator & sm. microwave. I never heard guests while in my room. The breakfasts are good & the warm cookies in the afternoon are a nice touch. My 2nd stay here & I will return in Sept. :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Not one of the newest Hampton Inns, but clean, nice staff, nice pool and really decent breakfast. Close to Misquamicut Beach, RI and Mystic if you are looking for nearby attractions. Olio restaurant 100 yards away decent dinner. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a fairly inexpensive hotel with descent services and very big rooms. It does lack some of the bells and whistles that you get at other hotels and doesn't have a shop to buy some necessities should you forget to bring a item or two on the trip. The good news is they have both a Walgreens and a CVS right down the street and it is a great location and very close access to the highway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn - Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - Groton

Address: 300 Long Hill Rd, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy great amenities at our Groton, CT hotel near Mystic, CT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn - Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Groton Hotel Groton
Groton Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - Groton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.