We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - Groton

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn - Groton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn - Groton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Long Hill Road - Us Rt 1, Groton, CT 06340   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now, save 15%
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Groton
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Acceptable Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I generally like Hampton Inn: good internet service, predictable room quality, and the complimentary breakfast. At this particular location, the pool was horrible (freezing cold water, which seemed dirty with a sediment on the bottom). The carpet in the room had very noticeable stains and I found a black hair on the supposedly clean sheets. Not attractive. When I put that out of my mind, the rest was acceptable. But if I return to the area, it won't be to this hotel, but I will still consider Hampton Inn in general (my other experiences with the chain were much better).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    82
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
80
66
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel's staff is very welcoming & friendly. The proximity to New London & to Mystic is perfect. Rooms very nice with refrigerator & sm. microwave. I never heard guests while in my room. The breakfasts are good & the warm cookies in the afternoon are a nice touch. My 2nd stay here & I will return in Sept. :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Not one of the newest Hampton Inns, but clean, nice staff, nice pool and really decent breakfast. Close to Misquamicut Beach, RI and Mystic if you are looking for nearby attractions. Olio restaurant 100 yards away decent dinner. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a fairly inexpensive hotel with descent services and very big rooms. It does lack some of the bells and whistles that you get at other hotels and doesn't have a shop to buy some necessities should you forget to bring a item or two on the trip. The good news is they have both a Walgreens and a CVS right down the street and it is a great location and very close access to the highway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night!! We were visiting the aquarium and the seaport, just a short drive. I'm always pleased with the hampton inn.... Comfy beds and clean rooms! The breakfast was good except the eggs but I enjoyed the oatmeal and fruit. I love that they kept coffee, cookies, fruit, and lemonade in the lobby. Very nice!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very clean and Friendly. This hotel was not on the direct path of all the attractions. About five miles out, however I felt completely satisfied with accommodations, service, and quality of facility. The beds were especially comfortable, the rooms were thoughtfully decorated in accordance to the area. There was plenty of room to organize yourself. I looked forward to my morning breakfeast. I was traveling with three teenagers who were all very satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Hampton Inn seems to be the way to go...regardless of location they always provide clean rooms, a friendly staff, a decent "free" breakfast, and an overall wonderful experience. This was a last-minute trip for us. I picked this hotel because of past experience with this chain and I made the right choice. It's close to Mystic, but far enough away to escape the touristy environment. Perfect! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn - Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - Groton

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Groton Hotel
Hampton Inn - Groton Hotel Groton
Hampton Inn Groton
Groton Hampton Inn
Address: 300 Long Hill Road - Us Rt 1, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Groton
#2 Family Hotel in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - Groton 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn - Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - Groton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.